WHEN THE TREES FALL [KOLY PADAYUT DEREVA]


11/19/2018 22:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Ukraine/Poland/Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of 2018 88 min Ukranian original version with English subtitles

by Marysia Nikitiuk

Script: Marysia Nikitiuk, DoP: Michal Englert Psc, Mateusz Wichlacz, Editor: Blaze Dulev, Milenia Fiedler, Ivan Bannikov, Production: Directory Films, Producers: Igor Savychenko, Roman Klympush, Serge Lavrenyuk, Volodymyr Filippov, Izabela Wójcik, Violetta Kamińska, Dariusz Jabłoński, Darko Basheski, Cast: Sonya Halaimova, Anastasiia Pustovit, Maksym Samchik, Mariia Svizhynska, Alla Samoylenko

Summer holidays in a God-forsaken Ukrainian village. Larysa, whose father passed away 40 days ago, falls in love with the handsome criminal Scar. When he moves into the city with its post-Soviet prefab apartment blocks, Larysa is forced to bow to the tradition of this deceptive village idyll and marry Roman in order to start a family. Much like Larysa, her five-year-old cousin Vitka attempts to rebel against the sclerotic structures in the countryside and harbours a secret that could change everyone’s fate.

The world seems hypercharged in this fiction feature debut: hard and brutal in reality, beguilingly beautiful in the dream worlds of Larysa and Vitka. Nikitiuk has managed to create a brilliant and visually stunning fantasy film.

Marysia Nikitiuk graduated at Kyiv Karpenko-Karyi University of Theater, Movie and TV in 2012. Thereafter she worked as a scriptwriter. From 2014 she started to shoot her own films as a director, and made three short films: IN TREES (2014), MANDRAGORA (2014) and RABIES (2016). In the same time, she developed her first feature film WHEN THE TREES FALL. In 2015/2016 she completed the script within the “ScripTeast” training program; the script won the Award for Best Script from Eastern Europe at Cannes International Film Festival 2016. Her first book of novels “Abyss” was published in 2016 and awarded with the “Oles Ulianenko International Literature Award” in the same year. Currently, she develops her second feature film SERAPHYMA.

WHEN THE TREES FALL won the Award for Best Main Actress (Anastasiia Pustovit) at the Odessa Film Festival (Ukraine 2018).

Contact
Latido Films
Marta Hernando
Spain
festivals@latidofilms.com
www.latidofilms.com

Short before

HORROR VACUI

WHEN THE TREES FALL [KOLY PADAYUT DEREVA]


19.11.2018 22:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Ukraine/Polen/Mazedonien 2018 88 Min. ukr. OmeU

von Marysia Nikitiuk

Drehbuch: Marysia Nikitiuk, Kamera: Michal Englert Psc, Mateusz Wichlacz, Schnitt: Blaze Dulev, Milenia Fiedler, Ivan Bannikov, Produktion: Directory Films, Produzenten: Igor Savychenko, Roman Klympush, Serge Lavrenyuk, Volodymyr Filippov, Izabela Wójcik, Violetta Kamińska, Dariusz Jabłoński, Darko Basheski, Darsteller: Sonya Halaimova, Anastasiia Pustovit, Maksym Samchik, Mariia Svizhynska, Alla Samoylenko

Sommerferien in einem gottverlassenen ukrainischen Dorf: Larysa, deren Vater vor 40 Tagen verstorben ist, verliebt sich in den schönen Kriminellen Scar. Als der in die Stadt mit ihren postsowjetischen Plattenbauten zieht, muss sie sich doch der Tradition der trügerischen Dorfidylle beugen und wird mit Roman verheiratet, um mit ihm eine Familie zu gründen. Ihre fünfjährige Cousine Vitka versucht wie Larysa, gegen die festgefahrenen Strukturen auf dem Lande zu rebellieren, und hütet zudem ein Geheimnis, das das Schicksal aller verändern könnte.

Die Welt scheint in diesem Spielfilmdebüt unter Strom zu stehen: hart und brutal in der Realität, betörend schön in den Traumwelten von Larysa und Vitka. Nikitiuk ist ein großartiger und bildgewaltiger Fantasyfilm gelungen.

Marysia Nikitiuk schloss 2012 ihr Studium an der Karpenko-Karyi University of Theater, Movie and TV in Kiew/Ukraine ab und arbeitete danach als Drehbuchautorin. Seit 2014 dreht sie eigene Kurzfilme: IN TREES, MANDRAGORA (beide 2014) und RABIES (2016). Parallel bereitete sie ihren ersten Spielfilm WHEN THE TREES FALL vor. 2015/2016 stellte sie das Drehbuch im Rahmen des „ScripTeast“-Fortbildungsprogramms fertig und wurde 2016 bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen in Festival in Cannes dafür mit dem Preis für das beste Drehbuch aus Osteuropa ausgezeichnet. Ihr erstes Buch „Abyss“ wurde 2016 publiziert und im gleichen Jahr mit dem „Oles Ulianenko International Literature Award“ ausgezeichnet. Derzeit entwickelt sie ihren zweiten Spielfilm SERAPHYMA.

WHEN THE TREES FALL erhielt beim Odessa Film Festival (Ukraine 2018) den Preis für die beste Hauptdarstellerin (Anastasiia Pustovit).

Kontakt
Latido Films
Marta Hernando
Spanien
festivals@latidofilms.com
www.latidofilms.com

Vorfilm

HORROR VACUI