WHY DON’T YOU JUST DIE! [PAPA, SDOKHNI]


11/22/2019 10:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Russia 2018 94 min Russian original version with German subtitles

by Kirill Sokolov

Script & Editor: Kirill Sokolov, DoP: Dmitriy Ulyukaev, Music: Vadim Qp, Sergey Solovyov, Producer: Sofiko Kiknavelidze, Production: White Mirror Film Company, Cast: Aleksandr Kuznetsov, Vitaliy Khaev, Evgeniya Kregzhde, Michael Gor, Elena Shevchenko

Andrei, a detective and the world’s most horrible father, brings together a terrible group of people in his apartment: his resentful actress daughter, an angry thug, and a cheated cop. Each one of them has a reason to want revenge… How much can two determined men do to each other in 90 minutes of film? Very much! At least in this bitter farce that knows no mercy and brilliantly combines splatter and slapstick.

“WHY DON’T YOU JUST DIE! can and will be read as a caustic commentary on Putin’s rotten Russia, but it is more unapologetic gross-out thrill ride than profound sermon on the human condition. Leaving nothing to the imagination, the film’s original title translates as “Daddy, Die!”, which is subtle as a shotgun blast to the face. But on this evidence, Sokolov is a more arch and artful filmmaker than he may first appear. A talent to watch.” (The Hollywood Reporter)

More information: http://www.reelsuspects.com/portfolio-item/why-dont-you-just-die/

Kirill Sokolov, born in 1989 in St. Petersburg/Russia, graduated from St. Petersburg Lyceum no. 30, a physics and math school, in 2006. He did so well in the regional physics Olympiad that he was accepted for the Department of Solid State Physics at St. Petersburg Polytechnic University, to study with Nobel laureate Zhores Alferov, without having to take entrance exams. In 2012, he received a master’s degree in the Physics and Technology of Nanostructures. In his last years at the university, he started making films, shooting short videos and movies. In the end, he quit physics and, in 2013, started studying at the Advanced Courses for Scriptwriters and Film Directors at various workshops. WHY DON’T YOU JUST DIE! is his debut feature film.

Contact

Alamode Filmdistribution
Matthias Fabian
Germany
info@alamodefilm.de
www.alamodefilm.de

Short before

TRIVIAL

WHY DON’T YOU JUST DIE! [PAPA, SDOKHNI]


22.11.2019 22:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Russland 2018 94 Min. OmU

von Kirill Sokolov

Drehbuch & Schnitt: Kirill Sokolov, Kamera: Dmitriy Ulyukaev, Musik: Vadim Qp, Sergey Solovyov, Produzent: Sofiko Kiknavelidze, Produktion: White Mirror Film Company, Darsteller: Aleksandr Kuznetsov, Vitaliy Khaev, Evgeniya Kregzhde, Michael Gor, Elena Shevchenko

Matvey hat nur ein Ziel: Er will den Vater seiner Freundin töten, einen korrupten und fiesen Polizisten. Mit Schweiß auf der Stirn und einem Hammer in der Hand klingelt er bei Andrey. Es folgt eine Achterbahnfahrt der Gewalt. Kein Möbelstück bleibt heil, Blut spritzt, und jede Menge Knochen brechen. Der Kampf um Leben und Tod kann dauern, und weitere Besucher der Wohnung bekommen das auch zu spüren. Brillante Kombination aus Splatter und Slapstick. Stark kultfilmverdächtig!

„Der russische Regisseur Kirill Sokolov vergießt in seinem Langspielfilm-Debüt WHY DON’T YOU JUST DIE! eine Tonne an Film-Blut über den Zuschauer. In seiner rasanten und coolen Inszenierung kommt keine Sekunde Langeweile auf. Dafür schlägt die kammerspielartige Krimi-Groteske genreüblich ein paar Haken und weiß bis zum blutigen Finale zu überraschen.“ (pressplay.at)

Weitere Informationen: http://www.reelsuspects.com/portfolio-item/why-dont-you-just-die/

Kirill Sokolov wurde 1989 in Sankt Petersburg/Russland geboren und hatte eigentlich eine ganz andere Berufslaufbahn eingeschlagen. 2006 schloss er seine Studien der Physik und Mathematik am Sankt Petersburger Lyzeum ab, danach sicherten ihm hervorragende Leistungen bei einer regionalen Physik-Olympiade das Studium an der Polytechnischen Universität seiner Heimatstadt unter dem Nobelpreisträger für Physik Zhores Alferov. Nach seinem Abschluss dort 2012 schrieb er noch einige wissenschaftliche Artikel und zog sich dann aus der Physik zurück, um sich ganz seiner Liebe zum Film zu widmen. Bereits im letzten Studienjahr drehte er Kurzfilme und Videoclips. 2013 nahm er an mehreren Workshops für Drehbuch und Regie teil. WHY DON’T YOU JUST DIE! ist sein fulminantes Regiedebüt.

Kontakt

Alamode Filmdistribution
Matthias Fabian
Deutschland
info@alamodefilm.de
www.alamodefilm.de

Vorfilm

TRIVIAL