WHAT HAVE WE DONE TO DESERVE THIS? [WOMIT HABEN WIR DAS VERDIENT?]


11/17/2018 20:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Austria 2018 90 min original version with English subtitles

by Eva Spreitzhofer

Script: Eva Spreitzhofer, DoP: Xiaosu Han, Andreas Thalhammer, Editor: Alarich Lenz, Production: MONA Film Produktion GmbH, Producers: Thomas Hroch, Gerald Podgornig, Cast: Caroline Peters, Chantal Zitzenbacher, Simon Schwarz, Marcel Mohab, Hilde Dalik, Duygu Arslan, Alev Irmak, Pia Hierzegger, Christopher Schärf

For Vienna resident Wanda (Caroline Peters), an adamant atheist and feminist, it’s like her worst nightmare has come true when her teenage daughter Nina converts to Islam, asks to be addressed as Fatima and announces her desire to wear a veil. Wanda’s wonderful know-it-all world is turned upside-down. She longs for the days when her only problems were getting blackout drunk and stoned out of her gourd. Suddenly her only thought is how to make her daughter come to her senses. As if that weren’t enough, her ex-husband (Simon Schwarz) has to pick this very moment to become a father again – though at least that is manageable somehow. What ensues is an unpitying but all the more exhilarating look in the mirror for a presumably enlightened, liberal patchwork family. With copious humour and quirky dialogue, director Eva Spreitzhofer and her brilliant ensemble cast manage to pull off a magnificently biting comedy of manners about tolerance and the limits thereof.

Since completing her studies at the acting academy of Vienna’s Volkstheater in 1986, Eva Spreitzhofer, born in 1967 in Graz/Austria, has appeared in numerous roles for film, television and theatre. Since 2000, she has also worked in parallel as a scriptwriter for movies, TV films and series. In 2014, she directed her documentary film AMONG THE BLIND. In 2018, she realised her first fiction feature WHAT HAVE WE DONE TO DESERVE THIS? In 2009, together with other Austrian filmmakers, she founded Akademie des Österreichischen Film, where she serves on the board of directors. Since 2013, she has held a teaching position at the acting academy in Graz. She currently lives in Vienna.

Contact
Neue Visionen Filmverleih
Torsten Frehse
Germany
frehse@neuevisionen.de
www.neuevisionen.de

Short before

DRAHTSEILAKT

WOMIT HABEN WIR DAS VERDIENT?


17.11.2018 20:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Österreich 2018 90 Min. OmeU

von Eva Spreitzhofer

Drehbuch: Eva Spreitzhofer, Kamera: Xiaosu Han, Andreas Thalhammer, Schnitt: Alarich Lenz, Produktion: MONA Film Produktion GmbH, Produzenten: Thomas Hroch, Gerald Podgornig, Darsteller: Caroline Peters, Chantal Zitzenbacher, Simon Schwarz, Marcel Mohab, Hilde Dalik, Duygu Arslan, Alev Irmak, Pia Hierzegger, Christopher Schärf

Für die Wienerin Wanda (Caroline Peters), überzeugte Atheistin und Feministin, wird ihr schlimmster Albtraum wahr, als ihre Teenagertochter Nina zum Islam konvertiert, von nun an Fatima heißen und Schleier tragen möchte. Wandas wunderbare Welt des besseren Wissens steht Kopf. Sie wünscht sich die Zeit zurück, als ihre einzigen Probleme im Komasaufen und Kiffen bestanden. Plötzlich dreht sich alles um die Frage: Wie bringt man das Mädchen zur Vernunft? Als wäre das alles nicht genug, muss ihr Ex-Mann (Simon Schwarz) ausgerechnet jetzt noch einmal Vater werden – doch damit lässt sich leben. Einer vermeintlich aufgeklärten, liberalen Patchwork-Familie wird hier ein mitleidloser, aber umso erheiternder Spiegel vorgehalten. Mit viel Humor und spitzfindigen Dialogen gelingt Regisseurin Eva Spreitzhofer und ihrem grandiosen Ensemble eine herrlich bissige Gesellschaftskomödie über Toleranz und ihre Grenzen.

Eva Spreitzhofer, geboren 1967 in Graz/Österreich, war nach ihrer Ausbildung an der Schauspielschule am Volkstheater in Wien seit 1986 in zahlreichen Film-, Fernseh- und Theaterrollen zu sehen. Seit 2000 ist sie parallel als Drehbuchautorin für Kinofilme, TV-Filme und-Serien tätig. 2014 führte sie Regie bei dem Dokumentarfilm UNTER BLINDEN. 2018 drehte sie mit WOMIT HABEN WIR DAS VERDIENT? ihr Spielfilmdebüt. Im Jahr 2009 gründete sie gemeinsam mit anderen österreichischen Filmschaffenden die Akademie des Österreichischen Film, dessen Vorstand sie angehört. Seit 2013 ist sie Lehrbeauftragte an der Schauspieluni Graz. Sie lebt zurzeit in Wien.

Kontakt
Neue Visionen Filmverleih
Torsten Frehse
Deutschland
frehse@neuevisionen.de
www.neuevisionen.de

Vorfilm

DRAHTSEILAKT