DIE SAAT

11/17/2021 07:30 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Germany 2021 97 min German original version with English subtitles
Local premiere

Script: Mia Maariel Meyer, Hanno Koffler, DoP: Falko Lachmund, Editor: Gesa Jäger, Production: kurhaus production, Film & Medien GmbH, Producers: Christoph Holthof, Daniel Reich, Cast: Hanno Koffler, Dora Zygouri, Anna Blomeier, Andreas Döhler, Robert Stadlober, Lilith Julie Johna

Rainer is working hard on the construction site. Money is tight and he has to move with his pregnant wife Nadine and 13-year-old daughter Doreen into a house in need of renovation in the surrounding countryside. His promotion to construction manager is a much-needed big break. Doreen, alone and frustrated without her best friend, meets Mara, the daughter of the rich and narrow-minded neighbors. But the new friendship quickly becomes a game of fire. Meanwhile, Rainer is demoted at the construction site and replaced by the pragmatic Jürgen, who has only the interests of the investors in mind and unscrupulously directs the construction project towards profit. When an older employee collapses, he is to be fired. Rainer stands protectively in front of his construction crew and thus becomes the unplanned leader of the resistance in the struggle for justice in a world ruled by capitalism.

Mia Maariel Meyer was born in Braunschweig/Germany in 1981 to German-Finnish parents. She studied film and screenwriting in New York and London, where she graduated with a Master of Arts in Filmmaking from the University of Goldsmiths in 2008. Back in Germany, she initially worked increasingly in the field of documentary film and reportage. In 2012, she received the Grimme Online Award for the documentary format “140 Seconds”. Her feature film debut TREPPE AUFWÄRTS, premiered at the Hofer Filmtage in 2015, where it received an honorable mention, and was shown at the Festival des deutschen Films in 2016.

Filmography (selection): 2010 HEIMWEH, 2011 FATHER, 2013 MANOU (all short films), 2015 TREPPE AUFWÄRTS, 2021 DIE SAAT.

Contact

missingFILMs
Christos Acrivulis
Germany
verleih@missingfilms.de
wwww.missingfilms.de

DIE SAAT

17.11.2021 19:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Deutschland 2021 97 Min. OmeU
Rhein-Main-Premiere

Drehbuch: Mia Maariel Meyer, Hanno Koffler, Kamera: Falko Lachmund, Schnitt: Gesa Jäger, Produktion: kurhaus production, Film & Medien GmbH, Produzenten: Christoph Holthof, Daniel Reich, Darsteller: Hanno Koffler, Dora Zygouri, Anna Blomeier, Andreas Döhler, Robert Stadlober, Lilith Julie Johna

Rainer schuftet hart auf der Baustelle. Das Geld ist knapp, und er muss mit seiner schwangeren Frau Nadine und der 13-jährigen Tochter Doreen in ein renovierungsbedürftiges Haus ins Umland ziehen. Sein Aufstieg zum Bauleiter ist die dringend benötigte große Chance. Doreen, allein und frustriert ohne ihre beste Freundin, lernt Mara kennen, die Tochter der reichen und bornierten Nachbarn. Doch die neue Freundschaft wird schnell zum Spiel mit dem Feuer. Unterdessen wird Rainer auf der Baustelle degradiert und durch den pragmatischen Jürgen ersetzt, der ausschließlich die Interessen der Investoren im Blick hat und das Bauprojekt skrupellos auf Profit ausrichtet. Als ein älterer Mitarbeiter zusammenklappt, soll er gefeuert werden. Rainer stellt sich schützend vor seine Bautruppe und wird so ungeplant zum Anführer des Widerstands im Kampf um Gerechtigkeit in einer vom Kapitalismus regierten Welt.

Mia Maariel Meyer wurde 1981 als Kind deutsch-finnischer Eltern in Braunschweig geboren. Sie studierte Film und Drehbuch in New York und London, wo sie ihr Studium 2008 mit einem Master of Arts in Filmmaking an der University of Goldsmiths abschloss. Wieder in Deutschland, arbeitete sie zunächst vermehrt im Bereich Dokumentarfilm und Reportage. Für das Doku-Format „140 Sekunden“ erhielt sie 2012 den Grimme Online Award. Ihr Spielfilmdebüt TREPPE AUFWÄRTS wurde 2015 bei den Hofer Filmtagen uraufgeführt, wo er eine lobende Erwähnung erhielt, und 2016 auf dem Festival des deutschen Films gezeigt.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2010 HEIMWEH, 2011 VATER, 2013 MANOU (alles Kurzfilme), 2015 TREPPE AUFWÄRTS, 2021 DIE SAAT

Kontakt

missingFILMs
Christos Acrivulis
Deutschland
verleih@missingfilms.de
wwww.missingfilms.de