DISPLACED

11/17/2020 05:30 pm – Krypta der Marktkirche

Germany 2020 90 min German, English and Yiddish original version with German and English subtitles

von Sharon Ryba-Kahn

Script: Sharon Ryba-Kahn, DoP: Omri Aloni, Editor: Evelyn Rack, Production: Tondowski Films, Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF, ZDF – Das kleine Fernsehspiel, Producers: Alex Tondowski, Ira Tondowski, with: Sharon Ryba-Kahn, Moritz Ryba, Chaim Ryba, Lounis Boudaa, Lukas Welz, Vivian Kanner

Sharon’s relationship with Germany has always been conflictual to say the least, at the same this was something she had just accepted. This is true although, she was born in Munich and currently lives in Berlin. Sharon is Jewish and a third generation Shoah survivor. When her estranged father Moritz contacts her again after seven years, it becomes an impetus for her to reconstruct her father’s family history. From here on a journey begins in which Sharon tries to understand who her father is and who his parents were. After having survived the Holocaust her father’s parents, who were originally from Poland arrived in Munich. They remained there for the longest time.

Sharon travels from place to place, from person to person trying to understand, how has the Shoah impacted her father’s family. The past leads her always back to her own life, after all she is living in Germany. Little by little she also confronts her non-Jewish German environment.

More information

The French-Israeli director Sharon Ryba-Kahn was born in Munich in 1983. She spent her first 14 years in Munich, before moving to Jerusalem in 1997. In 2001, she moved to Paris to study acting, she pursued her theater studies in New York under the direction of Mike Nichols. After having directed and acted in various theatre productions, she continued her education at the NYFA and studied Film Production. Her first feature-length documentary RECOGNITION came out in 2015 and was screened in over 20 film festivals worldwide. In order to improve her craft as director, she applied and got accepted into the prestigious MA program in Documentary Film Directing at the Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF in Potsdam/Germany.

Filmography: 2015 RECOGNITION, 2018 DER BESUCH (short film), 2020 CUBANÍA ENTRE BERLIN Y HAVANA (short film); LOVE TILL 120; DISPLACED


Contact
Tondowski Films Berlin
Ira Tondowski und Alex Tondowski
Germany
info@tondowskifilms.de
www.tondowskifilms.de

DISPLACED

17.11.2020 17:30 – Krypta der Marktkirche

Deutschland 2020 90 Min. dt.-engl.-jidd. Omd+eU

von Sharon Ryba-Kahn

Drehbuch: Sharon Ryba-Kahn, Kamera: Omri Aloni, Schnitt: Evelyn Rack, Produktion: Tondowski Films, Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF, ZDF – Das kleine Fernsehspiel, Produzenten: Alex Tondowski, Ira Tondowski, mit: Sharon Ryba-Kahn, Moritz Ryba, Chaim Ryba, Lounis Boudaa, Lukas Welz, Vivian Kanner

Sharons Beziehung zu Deutschland war schon immer problematisch – und dass, obwohl sie in München aufgewachsen ist und heute in Berlin lebt. Sharon gehört zur dritten Generation von Schoah-Überlebenden, für sie ist diese schwierige Beziehung zu Deutschland Normalität. Nach sieben Jahren meldet sich ihr Vater Moritz Ryba wieder bei ihr. Dies wird zum Beginn einer Reise. Ihre Großeltern väterlicherseits kamen aus Polen, überlebten die Schoah und landeten in München, wo sie viele Jahre lebten. Sharon fährt von Ort zu Ort und besucht Freunde und Bekannte. Sie will verstehen, wer die Familie ihres Vaters ist.

Der Blick in die Familienvergangenheit führt Sharon letztendlich dazu, sich mit ihrem eigenen Leben auseinanderzusetzen und die Frage nach dem Umgang mit der Vergangenheit an ihr nichtjüdisches Umfeld zu stellen. Die Suche zeigt allmählich die Kluft zwischen beiden Welten. Eine wichtige Frage bleibt offen: Wie gehen wir in unserer Gesellschaft mit unserer Vergangenheit um?

Weitere Informationen

Die französisch-israelische Regisseurin Sharon Ryba-Kahn wurde 1983 in München geboren. Sie verbrachte ihre ersten 14 Jahre in München, bevor sie 1997 nach Jerusalem zog. Im Jahr 2001 zog sie nach Paris, um Schauspiel zu studieren. Ihr Theaterstudium setzte sie in New York unter der Leitung von Mike Nichols fort. Nachdem sie in mehreren Theaterproduktionen Regie geführt und auch selbst mitgespielt hatte, setzte sie ihre Ausbildung an der NYFA fort und studierte Filmproduktion. Ihr erster abendfüllender Dokumentarfilm RECOGNITION erschien 2015 und wurde weltweit auf über 20 Filmfestivals gezeigt. Sie studiert Dokumentarfilmregie an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF.

Filmografie: 2015 RECOGNITION, 2018 DER BESUCH (Kurzfilm), 2020 CUBANÍA ENTRE BERLIN Y HAVANA (Kurzfilm); LOVE TILL 120; DISPLACED


Kontakt
Tondowski Films Berlin
Ira Tondowski und Alex Tondowski
Deutschland
info@tondowskifilms.de
www.tondowskifilms.de