GARAGENVOLK

11/15/2020 05:30 pm – Krypta der Marktkirche

Germany 2020 95 min Russian original version with German and English subtitles

by Natalija Yefimkina

Script: Natalija Yefimkina, DoP: Axel Schneppat, Editors: Nicole Fischer, Lucia Gerhardt, Markus Schmidt, Barbara Toennieshen, Production: Tamtam Film, Producers: Andrea Schütte, Dirk Decker

In post-Soviet Russia, there is a peculiar custom beyond the world of ice fishing, nesting dolls and vodka: garage complexes! Behind rusty gates we find the refuge of the Russian male: outside the rules, following whims, alternative spaces are created through copious imagination and tenacity. Projection surfaces for grand dreams, small bits of paradise. Scrap collector Ilya uses the garage as a production facility, Roman uses it for his quail breeding, Pavel carves skillful saint figures, and Viktor has added four underground floors to his space over the decades. You’ll find everything here, and anything seems possible.

“I am myself very impressed of the humanitarian worldview of the film. I have never seen before what Natalija shows us here. Her film, shot in the outer province of Russia, has an universal feature, deeply humanly. I have the impression as I have looked at the core of the Russian soul.” (Werner Herzog)

More information

Natalija Yefimkina was born in Kiev in 1983 to Russian-Ukrainian parents and moved to Germany with her family in 1995. After studying History and Literature in Berlin, she worked as an assistant director and production assistant for feature film productions. After several short documentary works GARAGE PEOPLE (GARAGENVOLK) is her first feature-length documentary and her debut as a director.

Awards (selection): Heiner Carow Award of the DEFA Foundation for Best Film in the section “Perspektive Deutsches Kino” (Berlin International Film Festival, Germany 2020), Werner Herzog Film Award (Werner Herzog Foundation, Munich/Germany 2020), „Audentia Award“ by Eurimages (Sarajevo Film Festival, Bosnia and Herzegovina 2020), Nominee of the German Documentary Film Prize 2020.

Contact
missingFILMs
Christos Acrivulis
Germany
verleih@missingfilms.de
wwww.missingfilms.de

GARAGENVOLK

15.11.2020 17:30 – Krypta der Marktkirche

Deutschland 2020 95 Min. russ. Omd+eU

von Natalija Yefimkina

Drehbuch: Natalija Yefimkina, Kamera: Axel Schneppat, Schnitt: Nicole Fischer, Lucia Gerhardt, Markus Schmidt, Barbara Toennieshen, Produktion: Tamtam Film, Produzenten: Andrea Schütte, Dirk Decker

Im postsowjetischen Russland gibt es ein Phänomen abseits von Eisfischen, Matrjoschkas und Wodka: die Garagensiedlung. Hinter rostigen Toren verbergen sich die geheimen Refugien des russischen Mannes: Nach eigenem Gusto und abseits aller Regeln, mit Erfindungskraft und Zähigkeit entstehen auf wenigen Quadratmetern alternative Lebensräume. Projektionsflächen großer Träume, kleine Paradiese. Hier gibt es alles, und alles scheint möglich. Die Garagen sind Ausdruck eines Rückzugs ins Private, eine Flucht vor dem tristen Alltag.

„Ich selbst bin von Ihrem Film, von seiner tief humanistischen Weltsicht, sehr beeindruckt. Was Sie gemacht haben, habe ich so noch nie gesehen. Ihr Film, in der äußersten Provinz Russlands gedreht, hat etwas Universelles, zutiefst Menschliches. Ich habe den Eindruck, in die Seele Russlands geschaut zu haben.“ (Werner Herzog)

Weitere Informationen

NatalijaYefimkina wurde 1983 in Kiew als Kind russisch-ukrainischer Eltern geboren und zog 1995 mit ihrer Familie nach Deutschland. Nach dem Studium der Geschichte und Literatur in Berlin arbeitete sie als Regie- und Produktionsassistentin bei Spielfilmproduktionen. Nach mehreren kurzen dokumentarischen Arbeiten ist GARAGENVOLK ihr erster langer Dokumentarfilm und ihr Debüt als Regisseurin.

Auszeichnungen (Auswahl): Heiner-Carow-Preis der DEFA-Stiftung für den besten Film der Reihe „Perspektive Deutsches Kino“ (Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin 2020), Werner Herzog Filmpreis (Werner Herzog Stiftung, München 2020), „Audentia Award“ von Eurimages (Sarajevo Film Festival, Bosnien und Herzegowina 2020), Nominierung für den Deutschen Dokumentarfilmpreis 2020

Kontakt
missingFILMs
Christos Acrivulis
Deutschland
verleih@missingfilms.de
wwww.missingfilms.de