SINKING SHIPS [SINKENDE SCHIFFE]

Germany 2020 21 min German original version with English subtitles

by Andreas Kessler

Script: Stephan Kämpf, DoP: Leonard Frederic Caspari, Editor: Maximilian Merth, Production: Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Producers: Max Breuer, Lukas Lankisch, Cast: Helena Hentschel, Emil Wipfler, Adrian Zwicker

Sara and Theo take a trip to the Black Forest with their ten-year-old son. An argument escalates, and Theo abruptly makes them get out of the car in the middle of the woods. Back at the hotel, things return to normal. At least that’s the way it seems. In the afternoon, the three set out for a lake. Theo explodes again, and the audience gradually begins to understand that violence is a part of everyday life in this family. While swimming, Theo suddenly finds himself in danger of drowning. And – for a brief moment – Sara holds his life in her hands.

“With SINKING SHIPS, we participate in the life of a family for whom violence and oppression are an inherent part of everyday existence. Within this family, we experience fear and longing and get to know the characters so personally that we ourselves become part of the family.” (producer Max Breuer)

Andreas Kessler realised his first short films at the ripe age of 14, works that were soon being screened and honoured with awards at international film festivals. After graduating from high school, he completed multiple internships, including at ZDF, with the Berlin Philharmonic and with a “Tatort” production. He is currently studying Directing at Film Academy Baden-Württemberg. CAMOUFLAGE, a film about homophobia in the German army, was created in collaboration with Stephan Kämpf and featured at numerous film festivals around the world. BLIND AUDITION, a film about a musician couple that auditions for the same solo position, was nominated for the 2017 German Short Film Award, among other honours.

Filmography: 2007 HANNA, 2011 RASUMOWSKY, 2013 CAMOUFLAGE, 2014 POSITIVE GEFÜHLE, 2015 MADAMA BUTTERFLY, 2016 MITFAHRER, 2017 BLIND AUDITION, 2020 SINKENDE SCHIFFE

Contact
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg
Max Breuer
Germany
max.breuer@filmakademie.de
www.filmakademie.de

Buy tickets online

Find showtimes and tickets for this movie here: MADE IN GERMANY – 3 SHORT FILMS

SINKENDE SCHIFFE

Deutschland 2020 21 Min. OmeU

von Andreas Kessler

Drehbuch: Stephan Kämpf, Kamera: Leonard Frederic Caspari, Schnitt: Maximilian Merth, Produktion: Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Produzenten: Max Breuer, Lukas Lankisch, Darsteller: Helena Hentschel, Emil Wipfler, Adrian Zwicker

Sara und Theo fahren mit ihrem zehnjährigen Sohn in den Schwarzwald. Ein Streit eskaliert, und Theo setzt Frau und Sohn kurzerhand im Wald aus. Zurück im Hotel kehrt wieder Normalität ein. Zumindest scheinbar. Am Nachmittag brechen die drei zu einem See auf. Theo explodiert erneut, und das Publikum versteht immer mehr, dass Gewalt in dieser Familie zum Alltag gehört. Beim Schwimmen gerät Theo plötzlich in Lebensgefahr und droht zu ertrinken. Und Sara hat – für einen kurzen Moment – sein Leben in der Hand.

„Mit SINKENDE SCHIFFE nehmen wir Teil am Leben einer Familie, für die Gewalt und Unterdrückung fester Bestandteil des Alltages sind. Innerhalb dieser Familie erzählen wir von Angst und Sehnsucht und lernen die Figuren so persönlich kennen, dass wir selber Teil der Familie werden.“ (Produzent Max Breuer)

Andreas Kessler drehte seine ersten Kurzfilme bereits mit 14 Jahren, die bald auf internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt und ausgezeichnet wurden. Nach der Schule absolvierte er Praktika, unter anderem beim ZDF, bei den Berliner Philharmonikern und bei einer „Tatort“-Produktion. Derzeit studiert er szenische Regie an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg. CAMOUFLAGE, ein Film über Homophobie in der Bundeswehr, entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit Stephan Kämpf und wurde auf vielen Filmfestivals weltweit gezeigt. BLIND AUDITION, ein Film über ein Musikerpärchen, das sich auf dieselbe Solostelle bewirbt, war unter anderem für den Deutschen Kurzfilmpreis 2017 nominiert.

Filmografie: 2007 HANNA, 2011 RASUMOWSKY, 2013 CAMOUFLAGE, 2014 POSITIVE GEFÜHLE, 2015 MADAMA BUTTERFLY, 2016 MITFAHRER, 2017 BLIND AUDITION, 2020 SINKENDE SCHIFFE

Kontakt
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg
Max Breuer
Deutschland
max.breuer@filmakademie.de
www.filmakademie.de

Karten online kaufen

Spielzeiten und Karten für diesen Film finden Sie unter MADE IN GERMANY – 3 KURZFILME