SIRENS [NIXEN]


11/19/2018 20:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Germany 2018 82 min original version with English subtitles

by Katinka Narjes

Script: Katinka Narjes, DoP: Carmen Treichl, Editor: Katinka Narjes, Production: Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin, Producer: Sabine Schmidt, Cast: Odine Johne, Lucy Wirth, Emelie Harbrecht, Roland Bonjour

Two sisters, Nene and Ava, living in limbo. When they were young they could always belt out a tune together. Now there’s a kid, a job in a cafe, a partner, mom, critical as ever. Then one of them secretly sets up a gig for the old duo and the other throws her life out the window on a whim. A film about symbiotic sisterly love and irrationality, with beautifully choreographed images about learning to let go.

“Floating like a dance, full of fleeting gestures, Narjes’ remarkably mature approach to mise-en-scène leaves gaps that act as open spaces for the mind. They lend the narrative a fairy-tale-like feel and make the formal execution here appear artlessly artful. An off-the-cuff sketch that reveals itself to be a great work of art.” (epd Film, Alexandra Seitz)

Katinka Narjes was born in 1982 in Frankfurt am Main and grew up near Hamburg. She studied film at the University of Hamburg. After a longer sojourn in New York, where she realised her first short films, Narjes worked as a directorial and productions assistant (in Babelsberg for Lana and Lilly Wachowski and for Tom Tykwer, among others). Most recently, she served as an assistant and caster for Valeska Grisebach’s WESTERN. Since 2009, she has studied directing at Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (DFFB). Her short films have been shown at diverse festivals in Germany and abroad and appeared numerous times on television.

Filmography: 2010 ANITA, 2013 HISTERIA; DER KLEMPNER UND DIE SCHNEIDERIN, 2014 PORZELLAN (all short films), 2018 NIXEN

Contact
DFFB Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie
Josephine Aleyt
Germany
festival@dffb.de
j.aleyt@dffb.de
www.dffb.de

Short before

FIRE IN CARDBOARD CITY

NIXEN


19.11.2018 20:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Deutschland 2018 82 Min. OmeU

von Katinka Narjes

Drehbuch: Katinka Narjes, Kamera: Carmen Treichl, Schnitt: Katinka Narjes, Produzent: Sabine Schmidt, Darsteller: Odine Johne, Lucy Wirth, Emelie Harbrecht, Roland Bonjour

Zwei Schwestern, Nene und Ava, in der Schwebe. In der Jugend gab es vor allem das gemeinsame Singen. Jetzt gibt es ein Kind, einen Job im Café, den Partner, die noch immer kritische Mutter. Dann aber arrangiert die eine heimlich einen Auftritt für die beiden, und die andere zerschmeißt aus einem Gefühl heraus ihr Leben. Ein Film über symbiotische Schwesternliebe und Irrationalität, mit tänzerischen Bildern vom Loslassen-Können.

„Tänzerisch schwebend, voll flüchtiger Gesten lässt Narjes‘ erstaunlich ausgereifter Inszenierungsstil Leerstellen, die als Freiräume wirken. Sie verleihen der Narration eine märchenhafte Anmutung und lassen die formale Umsetzung kunstlos kunstvoll wirken. Eine hingeworfene Skizze, die sich als großes Werk entpuppt.“ (epd Film, Alexandra Seitz)

Katinka Narjes wurde 1982 in Frankfurt am Main geboren und wuchs in der Nähe von Hamburg auf. Sie studierte Filmwissenschaften an der Universität Hamburg. Nach einem längeren Aufenthalt in New York, wo sie ihre ersten Kurzfilme realisierte, arbeitete sie als Regie- und Produktionsassistentin (u. a. in Babelsberg bei Lana und Lilly Wachowski und bei Tom Tykwer). Zuletzt war sie als Assistentin und Casterin für Valeska Grisebachs WESTERN tätig. Seit 2009 studiert sie Regie an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (DFFB). Ihre Kurzfilme wurden bei diversen Festival im In- und Ausland aufgeführt und wiederholt im Fernsehen gezeigt.

Filmografie: 2010 ANITA, 2013 HISTERIA; DER KLEMPNER UND DIE SCHNEIDERIN, 2014 PORZELLAN (alles Kurzfilme), 2018 NIXEN

Kontakt
DFFB Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie
Josephine Aleyt
Deutschland
festival@dffb.de
j.aleyt@dffb.de
www.dffb.de