SCHATTENSTUNDE

11/18/2021 05:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Germany 2021 78 min German original version with English subtitles
Local premiere

by Benjamin Martins

Script: Benjamin Martins, DoP: Malte Papenfuss, Editor: Malte Papenfuss, Production: Herbsthund Filme, Producer: Floriana Maddalena Maiello, Benjamin Martins, Cast: Christoph Kaiser, Beate Krist, Sarah Palarczyk, Dirk Waanders, Klaus Rodewald, Boris Becker

In 1942, Jochen Klepper made an extraordinary decision with his Jewish wife and step-daughter, as deportation loomed for the female family members. Thousands of Germans in mixed marriages suffered the same fate. The Christian writer/journalist was one of the 20th century’s most significant lyricists for religious songs. In compelling images, the film portrays the Kleppers’ last hours together.

“Director Benjamin Martins stages wrangling and hopelessness with a chamber drama touch (…) The images created in this manner touch the viewer to the core and testify to an impressive artistic translation of emotional claustrophobia. A freedom of spirit and the reinvention of creative means like we have never seen before.” (Jury statement FIRST STEPS Award 2021)

Benjamin Martins initially began his artistic career as an actor in theatre, as well as for film and television. After training as an actor in Cologne and Berlin, his first engagement brought him to Paris. In 2013, he switched to a spot behind the camera, making his directorial debut with the short film AMEISENPAKT. Since then, his films have flickered across the screens of esteemed festivals around the world, including in Berlin, New York and Los Angeles, receiving multiple awards in the process. In the wake of these experiences, he co-founded the film production company Herbsthund Filme along with his dog Müsli.

Filmography: 2014 AMEISENPAKT (short film), 2015 DON’T SHOOT ME MR. TALIBAN, 2018 DANKE TOTE KATZE, 2021 SCHATTENSTUNDE

Awards: Award for Best Feature Film (FIRST STEPS Award, Berlin/Germany 2021)

Contact
missingFILMs
Christos Acrivulis
Germany
verleih@missingfilms.de
wwww.missingfilms.de

SCHATTENSTUNDE

18.11.2021 17:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Deutschland 2021 78 Min. OmeU
Rhein-Main-Premiere

von Benjamin Martins

Drehbuch: Benjamin Martins, Kamera: Malte Papenfuss, Schnitt: Malte Papenfuss, Produktion: Herbsthund Filme, Produzent: Floriana Maddalena Maiello, Benjamin Martins, Darsteller: Christoph Kaiser, Beate Krist, Sarah Palarczyk, Dirk Waanders, Klaus Rodewald, Boris Becker

Jochen Klepper traf 1942 mit seiner jüdischen Frau und seiner ebenfalls jüdischen Stieftochter eine unerhörte Entscheidung, als die Deportation der weiblichen Familienmitglieder kurz bevorstand. Tausenden Deutschen in Mischehen erging es genauso. Der christliche Schriftsteller und Journalist war einer der bedeutendsten Dichter geistlicher Lieder im 20. Jahrhundert. In eindrucksvollen Bildern porträtiert der Film die letzten gemeinsamen Stunden der Familie.

„Kammerspielartig inszeniert Regisseur Benjamin Martins Hadern und Ausweglosigkeit (…) Die so erschafften Bilder treffen einen bis ins Mark und zeugen von einer beeindruckenden künstlerischen Übersetzung emotionaler Klaustrophobie. Eine Freiheit im Geist und in der Neuschöpfung kreativer Mittel, die wir so noch nie gesehen haben.“ (Jurybegründung FIRST STEPS Award 2021)

Benjamin Martins begann seine künstlerische Karriere zunächst als Schauspieler am Theater und bei Film und Fernsehen. Nach seiner Schauspielausbildung in Köln und Berlin führte ihn sein erstes Engagement nach Paris. 2013 wechselte er dann auch hinter die Kamera und gab mit dem Kurzfilm AMEISENPAKT sein Regiedebüt. Seither flimmerten seine Filme weltweit über die Leinwände namhafter Filmfestivals, unter anderem in Berlin, New York und Los Angeles, und wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Im Zuge dessen gründete er mit seinem Hund Müsli die Filmproduktionsfirma Herbsthund Filme.

Filmografie:
2014 AMEISENPAKT (Kurzfilm), 2015 DON’T SHOOT ME MR. TALIBAN, 2018 DANKE TOTE KATZE, 2021 SCHATTENSTUNDE

Auszeichnungen: Preis in der Kategorie „Bester abendfüllender Spielfilm“ (FIRST STEPS Award, Berlin 2021)

Kontakt
missingFILMs
Christos Acrivulis
Deutschland
verleih@missingfilms.de
wwww.missingfilms.de