YOUTH TOPIA

11/14/2021 05:30 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Germany/Switzerland 2021 85 min German original version with English subtitles
Local premiere

Script: Dennis Stormer, Marisa Meier, Editor: Noëmi Preiswerk, Production: Tellfilm, sehstern Filmproduktion, Intuition Club, Producers: Marisa Meier, Katrin Renz, Stefan Jäger, Reiner Krausz, Vita Spieß, Dennis Stormer, Cast: Elsa Langnäse, Lou Haltinner, Saladin Dellers, Jürg Plüss, Nicolas Rosat, Timon Kiefer, Regula Imboden, Nadim Ben Saïd, Sabrina Tannen

YOUTH TOPIA is a brilliant coming-of-age drama: What do a riot bride, a sensitive babyface, a 40-year-old conspiracy theorist and a sneaky party brat have in common? They are absolute good-for-nothings who together defy the social trend of self-realization. The only plan they have is to hang out as so-called long-term youths. Wanja regularly oversteps the mark and so everyone is really surprised when the algorithm offers her the dream job in an architecture office. Now she thinks she’s extra smart and believes she can have it both ways: a glitzy career with all the privileges of the adult world and the dopamine-rich party life in the arms of her dorky best friends. Soon she misses her wacky teenage friends and begins to understand that teenagers have something that adults have lost: community.

Marisa Meier, born in Zurich/Switzerland in 1992, graduated from the renowned Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg in 2019.Today she works as a producer for tellfilm and as a freelance writer and copywriter.

Filmography: 2021 YOUTH TOPIA

Dennis Stormer, born in Kiel/Germany, studied directing at Columbia University New York and graduated from Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg in 2019. He is now based in Kiel and Stockholm and is active in human rights and environmental activism in addition to film.

Filmography: 2017 LOOKING AT OTHERS, 2018 ICH ZÜND DIR NEN MERCEDES AN, 2019 LIGHT INSIDE (all short films), 2020 FULL OF FIRE (ex 33), 2021 YOUTH TOPIA.

Awards: Audience Award (Zurich Film Festival, Switzerland 2021)

Contact

Marisa Meier
Schweiz
Telefon: +41 44 286 79 80
meier@tellfilm.ch

YOUTH TOPIA

14.11.2021 17:30 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Deutschland/Schweiz 2021 85 Min. dt. OmeU
Rhein-Main-Premiere

Drehbuch: Dennis Stormer, Marisa Meier, Schnitt: Noëmi Preiswerk, Produktion: Tellfilm, sehstern Filmproduktion, Intuition Club, Produzenten: Marisa Meier, Katrin Renz, Stefan Jäger, Reiner Krausz, Vita Spieß, Dennis Stormer, Darsteller: Elsa Langnäse, Lou Haltinner, Saladin Dellers, Jürg Plüss, Nicolas Rosat, Timon Kiefer, Regula Imboden, Nadim Ben Saïd, Sabrina Tannen

Was haben eine Krawallbraut, ein sensibles Babyface, ein 40-jähriger Verschwörungstheoretiker und eine hinterlistige Partygöre gemeinsam? Sie sind absolute Nichtsnutze, die gemeinsam dem gesellschaftlichen Trend der Selbstverwirklichung trotzen. Der einzige Plan, den sie haben, ist als sogenannte Langzeitjugendliche abzuhängen. Wanja überspannt den Bogen regelmäßig, und so wundern sich wirklich alle, als der Algorithmus genau ihr den Traumjob in einem Architekturbüro anbietet. Jetzt hält sie sich für besonders clever und glaubt, dass sie beides haben kann: eine schillernde Karriere mit allen Privilegien der Erwachsenenwelt und das dopaminreiche Partyleben in den Armen ihrer bescheuerten besten Freunde. Schon bald vermisst sie ihre verpeilten Jugendfreunde und beginnt zu verstehen, dass die Jugendlichen etwas haben, was den Erwachsenen abhanden gekommen ist: Gemeinschaft.

Marisa Meier, 1992 in Zürich/Schweiz geboren, schloss ihr Studium an der renommierten Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg 2019 ab.Heute ist sie als Producerin für tellfilm und als freie Autorin und Texterin tätig.

Filmografie: 2021 YOUTH TOPIA

Dennis Stormer, geboren in Kiel, studierte Regie an der Columbia University New York und machte 2019 an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg seinen Abschluss. Er lebt heute in Kiel und Stockholm, arbeitet als Filmemacher und engagiert sich zudem als Menschenrechts- und Umweltaktivist.

Filmografie: 2017 LOOKING AT OTHERS, 2018 ICH ZÜND DIR NEN MERCEDES AN, 2019 LIGHT INSIDE (alles Kurzfilme), 2020 FULL OF FIRE (ex 33), 2021 YOUTH TOPIA

Auszeichnungen: Publikumspreis (Zurich Film Festival, Schweiz 2021)

Kontakt

Marisa Meier
Schweiz
Telefon: +41 44 286 79 80
meier@tellfilm.ch