INTERNATIONAL SHORT FILM COMPETITION – PART II

11/20/2020 07:30 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

After finishing her studies of Slavonic and German literature Alexandra Gramatke worked as a freelance interpreter for literature and documentary films. In 1994, she joined “thede”, a Hamburg based group of documentary filmmakers. Here she made several films, for example 20 VIOLINS FOR ST. PAULI. In addition, she worked as a production manager and publisher. Since 2008, she has been the managing director of the Kurzfilm Agentur Hamburg, a short film distributor, and host of the annual Short Film Festival Hamburg.

Thomas Johnson, born in 1984, graduated with a degree in Time-Based Media from the University of Wales Institute in Cardiff and from the New Media Department of the Academy of Fine Arts in Zagreb/Croatia. Aside from making animated films, he creates stop-motion performance art works which have been featured at numerous festivals. Together with his partner Ivana Bošnjak, he has created two multi-award-winning short animated films: SIMULACRA (2014) and IMBUED LIFE (2019). Currently, the couple has just begun production on their third puppet stop-motion film APATHY. IMBUED LIFE won the International Short Film Competition at exground filmfest 2019.

Marion Klomfaß, born in Wiesbaden in 1970, studied theatre, film and media studies, German and musicology at Frankfurt’s Goethe University, receiving a Magister Artium degree. Since 1995, she has worked as an editor for diverse film and TV productions and is currently employed at Hessischer Rundfunk. From 1993 to 2011, she was a member of the organisational and film selection team at exground filmfest in Wiesbaden. In 2000, she was among the founders of the Japanese film festival Nippon Connection in Frankfurt am Main, where she has served as director to the present day. In 2013, she was honoured by Japan’s foreign minister for her efforts to promote Japanese culture in Germany.

INTERNATIONALER KURZFILM-WETTBEWERB – TEIL II

20.11.2020 19:30 – Caligari FilmBühne

Alexandra Gramatke arbeitete nach dem Studium der Slavistik und Neueren Deutschen Literaturwissenschaft als freiberufliche Übersetzerin im Bereich Literatur und Dokumentarfilm. Seit 1994 ist sie Mitglied der thede, einem Hamburger Kollektiv von Dokumentarfilmern. Hier realisierte sie eigene Filme wie 20 GEIGEN AUF ST. PAULI. Daneben war sie als Produktionsleiterin und Herausgeberin tätig. Seit 2008 ist sie Geschäftsführerin der Kurzfilm Agentur Hamburg.

Thomas Johnson, geboren 1984, studierte Zeitbasierte Medien an der Universität von Wales in Cardiff und an der Akademie der Schönen Künste in Zagreb/Kroatien. Neben Animationsfilmen macht er auch Trickfilm-Performances, die auf vielen Festivals gezeigt wurden. Gemeinsam mit seiner Partnerin Ivana Bošnjak hat er bereits zwei vielfach ausgezeichnete Animationsfilme hergestellt: SIMULACRA (2014) und IMBUED LIFE (2019). Beide sind gerade in der Produktion ihres dritten gemeinsamen Trickfilms APATHY. Mit IMBUED LIFE gewannen sie 2019 auch den Internationalen Kurzfilm-Wettbewerb von exground filmfest.

Marion Klomfaß, 1970 in Wiesbaden geboren, studierte Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft, Germanistik und Musikwissenschaft an der Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt am Main mit dem Abschluss Magister Artium. Seit 1995 arbeitet sie als Cutterin für diverse Film- und TV-Produktionen und ist aktuell beim Hessischen Rundfunk angestellt. Von 1993 bis 2011 war sie Mitglied im Organisations- und Filmauswahlteam des exground filmfest in Wiesbaden. 2000 gehörte sie zu den Gründern des japanischen Filmfestivals Nippon Connection in Frankfurt am Main, dessen Leiterin sie bis heute ist. 2013 wurde sie für ihre Leistungen als Vermittlerin der japanischen Kultur in Deutschland vom japanischen Außenminister ausgezeichnet.