INTERNATIONAL SHORT FILM COMPETITON – PART II


11/22/2019 08:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne
11/23/2019 04:00 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

This years jury members:

Burkhard Althoff studied Theater-, Film- and Media-Science in Germany, Spain and the USA. He worked as assistant director and dramaturge with theatres in Tübingen and Hamburg and since 1995 as commissioning editor for ZDF – German Public Television. There he is responsible for productions of ZDF’s young talent department “Das kleine Fernsehspiel”. His recent productions include the documentaries THE COMMUNIST by Andreas Goldstein and ANIMALS by Jonas Spriestersbach. He is also responsible for German feature films and international coproductions such as SYSTEM CRASHER by Nora Fingscheidt, MANY HAPPY RETURNS (ex 2019) by Carlos Morelli and THE INNOCENT by Simon Jaquemet.

Christy Garland’s films reveal compelling, intimate stories that combine observational documentary with strong dramatic development and universally felt themes. After a world premiere at the Berlinale 2018, her feature documentary WHAT WALAA WANTS (ex 2018) won several international awards. It was chosen as one of TIFF Canada’s Top Ten 2018, and was nominated for three Canadian Screen Awards. and the DGC Allan King Award for Excellence in Documentary. Based in Toronto, she often co‐produces with the Nordic countries. She is an alumni of the Binger Doc Lab and Dok Incubator.

Brunna Laboissière is a Brazilian director. In 2016, she founded the production company Artemísia Filmes focused on independent cinema. In 2018, she finished her first feature film FABIANA (ex 2019), which was selected for the International Film Festival Rotterdam 2019 (Bright Future Competition), Indielisboa and Olhar de Cinema 2018 (Audience Award), among others. She’s currently working on the post-production of the short film HARAK and developing two feature films: BETWEEN BOUNDARIES and QUARRIES.

INTERNATIONALER KURZFILM-WETTBWERB – TEIL II


22.11.2019 20:00 – Caligari FilmBühne
23.11.2019 16:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Die diesjährige Fachjury setzt sich zusammen aus:

Burkhard Althoff studierte Theater-, Film- und Fernsehwissenschaften in Deutschland, Spanien und den USA, arbeitete als Regie- und Dramaturgie-Assistent am Theater und ist seit 1995 Redakteur in der ZDF-Redaktion „Das kleine Fernsehspiel“, der ZDF-Nachwuchswerkstatt für junge Autoren und Regisseure. In jüngerer Zeit betreute er die Dokumentarfilme DER FUNKTIONÄR von Andreas Goldstein und TIERE von Jonas Spriestersbach, die Spielfilme SYSTEMSPRENGER von Nora Fingscheidt und DER GEBURTSTAG (ex 2019) von Carlos Morelli sowie die internationale Koproduktion DER UNSCHULDIGE von Simon Jaquemet.

Christy Garland ist die Regisseurin preisgekrönter Dokumentar- und Kurzfilme und lebt und arbeitet in Toronto/Kanada. Ihre Filme werden weltweit vertrieben und zeichnen sich durch raffinierte Dramaturgie, spannende Charakterentwicklungen und eine universell relevante Themenwahl aus. THE BASTARD SINGS THE SWEETEST SONG verglichen Filmkritiker mit den Arbeiten von Robert Bresson und den Brüdern Dardenne. Ihr Dokumentarfilm WHAT WALAA WANTS (ex 2018) hatte seinen Premiere auf der Berlinale und erhielt einige Auszeichnungen.

Die brasilianische Regisseurin Brunna Laboissière gründete 2016 die Firma Artemísia-Films, die sich auf die Produktion von Independent-Filmen konzentriert. 2018 stellte sie ihren ersten langen Dokumentarfilm FABIANA (ex 2019) fertig, der im Januar 2019 im „Bright Future“-Wettbewerb in Rotterdam lief. Derzeit finalisiert sie ihren Kurzfilm HARAK und entwickelt ihre zwei Langfilmprojekte BETWEEN BOUNDARIES und QUARRIES.