FEATHERS

11/20/2021 03:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

France/Egypt/Netherlands/Greece 2021 112 min Arabic original version with English subtitles
Local premiere

by Omar El Zohairy

Script: Ahmed Amer, Omar El Zohairy, DoP: Kamal Samy, Editor: Hisham Saqr, Production: Still Moving (France), Film Clinic (Egypt), Lagoonie Film Production (Egypt), Kepler Film (The Netherlands), Heretic (Greece), Producer: Juliette Lepoutre, Cast: Demyana Nassar, Samy Bassiouny, Fady Mina Fawzy, Abo Sefen Nabil Wesa, Mohamed Abd El Hady

In a meagre apartment in a dusty nameless city, preparations are in full swing for the four-year-old son’s birthday party. Although money is far beyond tight, the celebration is supposed be top-notch. The authoritarian father intends to use the party as an opportunity to boost his popularity with his social circle and his boss. There are colourful drinks and balloons, and he has even lined up a magician with an extra-special trick up his sleeve: he turns the host into a chicken! Alas, the audience’s delight is short lived when the transformation in the other direction doesn’t work, leaving the host’s wife alone with the kids and the stubborn creditors. Focussing on the mother as the central character, Omar El Zohairy takes a satirical look at Egyptian society. In Cannes, FEATHERS was awarded the Grand Prix and the FIPRESCI Award in the “Semaine de la Critique” section.

Omar El Zohairy studied film directing at the High Institute of Cinema in Cairo and worked as an assistant director on feature films of Egypt’s most prominent filmmakers, including Yousri Nasrallah. His first feature film, FEATHERS, premiered in the competition of the Critics’ Week of 2021 Cannes International Film Festival and won two awards there.

Filmography: 2011 BREATHE OUT, 2014 THE AFTERMATH OF THE INAUGURATION OF THE PUBLIC TOILET AT KILOMETRE 375 (both short films), 2021 FEATHERS

Awards (selection). Award for Best International Feature (Calgary International Film Festival, Canada 2021), Grand Prize and FIPRESCI Prize in the Critics’ Week section (Cannes International Film Festival, France 2021)

Contact

WORLD SALES
Heretic
Ioanna Stais
36, Alkmanos street
15451 Athens
Greece
Phone: +30 210 6005260
ioanna@heretic.gr
www.heretic.gr

FEATHERS

20.11.2021 15:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Frankreich/Ägypten/Niederlande/Griechenland 2021 112 Min. arab. OmeU
Rhein-Main-Premiere

von Omar El Zohairy

Drehbuch: Ahmed Amer, Omar El Zohairy, Kamera: Kamal Samy, Schnitt: Hisham Saqr, Produktion: Still Moving (France), Film Clinic (Egypt), Lagoonie Film Production (Egypt), Kepler Film (The Netherlands), Heretic (Greece), Produzent: Juliette Lepoutre, Darsteller: Demyana Nassar, Samy Bassiouny, Fady Mina Fawzy, Abo Sefen Nabil Wesa, Mohamed Abd El Hady

In einer kargen Wohnung in einer namenlosen staubigen Stadt laufen die Vorbereitungen für die Geburtstagsfeier des vierjährigen Sohnes auf Hochtouren. Obwohl das Geld vorne und hinten nicht reicht, soll groß gefeiert werden. Der autoritäre Vater nutzt die Party, um sich bei seinen Bekannten und seinem Chef beliebt zu machen. So gibt es bunte Getränke, Luftballons und als Höhepunkt einen Zauberer. Der hat einen besonderen Trick auf Lager: Er verwandelt den Gastgeber in ein Huhn! Doch die Begeisterung über das Kunststück währt nur kurz, da die Rückverwandlung nicht gelingen mag. So steht seine Frau nun allein mit den Kindern und den hartnäckigen Gläubigern da. Mit der Mutter als zentraler Figur wirft Omar El Zohairy einen satirischen Blick auf die ägyptische Gesellschaft. In Cannes wurde FEATHERS mit dem Grand Prix und dem FIPRESCI-Preis in der Sektion „Semaine de la Critique“ prämiert.

Omar El Zohairy studierte Regie am High Institute of Cinema in Kairo und arbeitete als Regieassistent an Spielfilmen von Ägyptens bekanntesten Filmemachern, darunter Yousri Nasrallah. Sein erster Spielfilm, FEATHERS, wurde 2021 im Wettbewerb der „Semaine de la Critique“ der Internationalen Filmfestspiele von Cannes uraufgeführt und gewann dort gleich zwei Preise.

Filmografie: 2011 BREATHE OUT, 2014 THE AFTERMATH OF THE INAUGURATION OF THE PUBLIC TOILET AT KILOMETRE 375 (beides Kurzfilme), 2021 FEATHERS

Auszeichnungen (Auswahl): Preis für den besten internationalen Spielfilm (Calgary International Film Festival, Kanada 2021), Grand Prix und FIPRESCI-Preis in der Sektion „Semaine de la Critique“ (Internationale Filmfestspiele von Cannes, Frankreich 2021)

Kontakt

WELTVERTRIEB
Heretic
Ioanna Stais
36, Alkmanos street
15451 Athen
Griechenland
Telefon: +30 210 6005260
ioanna@heretic.gr
www.heretic.gr