LUCHADORAS

11/16/2021 08:00 pm – Krypta der Marktkirche

Germany/Mexico 2021 73 min Spanish original version with English subtitles
German premiere

Script: Paola Calvo, Patrick Jasim, DoP: Patrick Jasim, Production: TUMULT, Producer: Phillip Kaminiak

Ciudad Juárez, the “Murder City”, claims thousands of victims every year as drug cartels clash with government forces in the so called “War on Drugs”. The city also coined the term femicide in Mexico. The film is an intimate portrait of three courageous female wrestlers (Luchadoras) from Juárez who despite being surrounded by machismo and poverty fight to redefine the image of what it means to be a woman in Mexico: the short-statued Mini Serinita who’s biggest dream is to become a full-time Luchadora and leave the factory work that disenfranchises so many women in Juárez; Lady Candy who can see the US side of the border, where her daughters were taken to; and Baby Star, the young single mother who was a “Lucha Libre” star at an early age and now makes her way to a come back. With Mexican passion they present an image of being woman that is strong, loud and confident. They are Luchadoras!

More information

Paola Calvo, born in 1981 in Caracas/Venezuela, is a cinematographer and director. For her graduation film at the German Film and Television Academy, the feature-length documentary VIOLENTLY HAPPY, she received the National Prize for Cinematography at the Cologne/Dortmund International Women’s Film Festival, and was nominated for the Michael Ballhaus Camera Prize at the “FIRST STEPS Awards”.

Filmography: 2012 TELL ME WHEN…, 2016 VIOLENTLY HAPPY, 2018 STRAIGHT FAMILY, 2021 LUCHADORAS

Patrick Jasim is a director and DoP. His DoP feature debut STUBBORN BOY was screened at the 2015 Berlin International Film Festival. The documentary HELMUT BERGER, MY MOTHER AND ME, he shot as director of photography, was screened in German cinemas in 2019.

Filmography: 2021 LUCHADORAS

Contact

missingFILMs
Christos Acrivulis
Germany
verleih@missingfilms.de
wwww.missingfilms.de

LUCHADORAS

16.11.2021 20:00 – Krypta der Marktkirche

Deutschland/Mexiko 2021 73 Min. span. OmeU
Deutschland-Premiere

Drehbuch: Paola Calvo, Patrick Jasim, Kamera: Patrick Jasim, Produktion: TUMULT, Produzent: Phillip Kaminiak

Ciudad Juárez, die „Mörderstadt“, fordert jedes Jahr tausende von Opfern, wenn Drogenkartelle und Regierungstruppen im sogenannten „Drogen-Krieg“ aufeinanderprallen. Der Film ist ein intimes Porträt dreier mutiger Wrestlerinnen (Luchadoras) aus Juárez, die trotz Armut und des allgegenwärtigen Machismos in Mexiko für mehr Gerechtigkeit kämpfen – sowie für ein starkes und selbstbewusstes Frauenbild: die kleinwüchsige Mini Serinita, die davon träumt, eine Vollzeit-Luchadora zu werden und der Fabrikarbeit zu entfliehen, die so viele Frauen in Juárez entrechtet; Lady Candy, die vom Fenster ihres Hauses aus die Grenze zu den USA sehen kann, wo ihre Töchter leben; und Baby Star, die junge, alleinerziehende Mutter, die schon in jungen Jahren ein „Lucha Libre“-Star war. Mit mexikanischer Leidenschaft präsentieren sie ein Frauenbild, das stark, laut und selbstbewusst ist: Sie sind Luchadoras!

Weitere Informationen

Paola Calvo, 1981 in Caracas/Venezuela geboren, ist Filmemacherin und Regisseurin. Mit ihrem Abschlussfilm an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin, der Dokumentation VIOLENTLY HAPPY, gewann sie auf dem Internationalen Frauenfilmfestival in Köln/Dortmund einen Preis im Nationalen Wettbewerb. Zudem war der Film bei den „FIRST STEPS Awards“ nominiert für den Michael-Ballhaus-Kamerapreis.

Filmografie: 2012 TELL ME WHEN…, 2016 VIOLENTLY HAPPY, 2018 STRAIGHT FAMILY, 2021 LUCHADORAS

Patrick Jasim ist Regisseur und Kameramann. Sein Spielfilmdebüt als Kameramann, STUBBORN BOY, wurde 2015 auf den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin gezeigt. Der Dokumentarfilm HELMUT BERGER, MEINE MUTTER UND ICH, den er als Kameramann drehte, kam 2019 in die deutschen Kinos.

Filmografie: 2021 LUCHADORAS

Kontakt

missingFILMs
Christos Acrivulis
Deutschland
verleih@missingfilms.de
wwww.missingfilms.de