MADALENA

11/16/2021 10:00 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Brazil 2021 85 min Portugese original version with English subtitles

Script: Madiano Marcheti, Thiago Gallego, Thiago Ortman, Tiago Coelho, DoP: Tiago Rios, Guiherme Tostes, Editor: Lia Kulakauskas, Producers: Clélia Bessa, Joel Pizzini, Sérgio Pedrosa, Marcos Pieri, Beatriz Martins, Cast: Mariane Cáceres, Nádja Mitidiero, Joana Castro, Edilton Ramos, Maria Leite, Antonio Salvador, Lucas Miralles

Emus walk the plantation, the wind whistles, the soybean fields radiate harmony. A combine making its rounds stops in front of Madalena’s corpse. Luziane, Cristiano and Bianca are only united by the fact that they live in the same small Western Brazilian town, and they all played a role in the life or death of Madalena. The film depicts their everyday lives, subtly conveying the country’s malaise. In his feature-film debut, the director processes the sad fact that his native land of Brazil possesses the world’s highest murder rate for transmen and transwomen. A highly convincing first outing. Audiences can look forward to seeing what sort of projects the filmmaker will devote his attention to in the future.

Madiano Marcheti was born and raised in the state of Mato Grosso, in Brazil’s Amazon region. After some short films that screened in several festivals in Brazil, he directed his first feature film, MADALENA. He is currently working on his next feature film MOTHER OF GOLD while he develops the scripts
for two further projects.

Filmography: 2014 VOID, 2015 IN TRANSIT, 2015 THE COLDEST PLACE IN RIO, 2016 THE WEIGHT OF LOVING YOU (all short films), 2021 MADALENA

Contact

INTERNATIONAL SALES
Wide Entertainment
17, rue Cadet
75009 Paris
France
Phone: +33 1 53950464
wide@widemanagement.com
Fax +33 1 95 04 04 65

BRAZILIAN CONTACT
Marcos Pieri
pieri@raccord.com.br
Rua Jardim Botânico, 674 / 413
Rio de Janeiro – Brazil – 22.461-002
Tel. +55 21 2540 6666

Short before

SINTRA III

MADALENA

16.11.2021 22:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Brasilien 2021 85 Min. OmeU

Drehbuch: Madiano Marcheti, Thiago Gallego, Thiago Ortman, Tiago Coelho, Kamera: Tiago Rios, Guiherme Tostes, Schnitt: Lia Kulakauskas, Produzenten: Clélia Bessa, Joel Pizzini, Sérgio Pedrosa, Marcos Pieri, Beatriz Martins, Darsteller: Mariane Cáceres, Nádja Mitidiero, Joana Castro, Edilton Ramos, Maria Leite, Antonio Salvador, Lucas Miralles

Emus bewegen sich auf der Plantage, man hört den Wind, das Grün der Sojafelder wirkt harmonisch. Ein Mähdrescher zieht seine Runden und stoppt vor der Leiche von Madalena. Luziane, Cristiano und Bianca haben nichts gemeinsam, außer dass sie in derselben Kleinstadt im Westen Brasiliens leben. Sie spielten alle eine Rolle im Leben oder beim Tod Madalenas. Der Film zeigt ihren Alltag und vermittelt damit unterschwellig die Probleme des Landes. In seinem Langfilmdebüt verarbeitet der Regisseur den traurigen Fakt, dass sein Heimatland Brasilien die höchste Mordrate an Transmännern und -frauen weltweit aufweist. Ein höchst überzeugendes Erstlingswerk. Man darf gespannt sein, welchen Projekten sich der Regisseur in Zukunft noch widmen wird.

Madiano Marcheti wurde im Bundesstaat Mato Grosso in Brasiliens Amazonasgebiet geboren und wuchs dort auf. Nach diversen Kurzfilmen, die auf mehreren Festivals in Brasilien gezeigt wurden, drehte er mit MADALENA seinen ersten Langfilm. Derzeit arbeitet er an seinem nächsten Langfilm MOTHER OF GOLD und und an den Drehbüchern für zwei weitere Projekte.

Filmografie: 2014 VOID, 2015 IN TRANSIT, 2015 THE COLDEST PLACE IN RIO, 2016 THE WEIGHT OF LOVING YOU (alles Kurzfilme), 2021 MADALENA

Kontakt

INTERNATIONAL SALES
Wide Entertainment
17, rue Cadet
75009 Paris
Frankreich
Telefon: +33 1 53950464
wide@widemanagement.com

BRAZILIAN CONTACT
Marcos Pieri
pieri@raccord.com.br
Rua Jardim Botânico, 674 / 413
Rio de Janeiro – Brazil – 22.461-002
Tel. +55 21 2540 6666

Vorfilm

SINTRA III