THE WITCHES OF THE ORIENT [LES SORCIÈRES DE L’ORIENT]

11/15/2021 08:00 pm – Krypta der Marktkirche

France 2021 100 min Japanese original version with English subtitles
German premiere

by Julien Faraud

Script: Julien Faraud, DoP: Yutaka YAMAZAKI, Editor: Andreï BOGDANOV, Production: , Producer: William Jéhannin, Cast: Kinuko IDOGAWA, Yoshiko KANDA, Yoko TAMURA, Katsumi CHIBA, Yuriko NAKAJIMA, Kayako KIHARA, Ryo KIHARA, Chikako HIOKI, Hina HIOKI, Yuina HIOKI.

“The Witches of the Orient” is the nickname given to the most successful Japanese volleyball team in history. The “witches” won the World Championship in 1962 and Olympic gold in 1964. With 258 wins and no losses, the team remains a legend in Japan to this day. Director Julien Faraut interviews the aging players to explore the myth behind their stunning success in this gripping essay on Japanese culture.

Having worked with the French Institute of Sport (INSEP) for 15 years, Julien Faraut has had access to a large and mostly unseen collection of 16-mm archival footage, aiming to bridge the connections between sport, cinema and art. With a fascination for the incredible achievements of highly skilled athletes, he explores in THE WITCHES OF THE ORIENT these unique sportswomen through the medium of film.

Julien Faraut, born in Colombes/France in 1978, studied history. After his exam, he started working for the French Institute of Sport (INSEP) in Paris, where he supervises a collection of 16-mm films. Using this collection, he makes his own visual essays, combining sport history and documentary art. His film JOHN MCENROE: IN THE REALM OF PERFECTION was shown at the 2018 Berlin International Film Festival.

Filmography: 2003–2009 MEMOIRE D’ENTRAINEUR, 2004 PARIS JEUX T’AIME, 2006 LA CREATIVITE DU VIDE, 2007 PERSPECTIVES RUGBYSTIQUES, 2008, APPARITIONS, 2009, UNE SEULE FOIS, 2010 PHRASES D’ARMES, 2011 TABLEAUX NOIR ÉCRAN LUMINEU, 2013 REGARD NEUF SUR OLYMPIA 52, 2014 ENTRAINEMENT, 2015 JJBALLET, 2018 JOHN MCENROE: IN THE REALM OF PERFECTION, 2021 THE WITCHES OF THE ORIENT

Contact
Lightdox
Switzerland
hello@lightdox.com
Phone: +41 78 6370444

Short before

I JUST CALL IT LOVE

THE WITCHES OF THE ORIENT [LES SORCIÈRES DE L’ORIENT]

15.11.2021 20:00 – Krypta der Marktkirche

Frankreich 2021 100 Min. jap. OmeU
Deutschland-Premiere

von Julien Faraud

Drehbuch: Julien Faraud, Kamera: Yutaka YAMAZAKI, Schnitt: Andreï BOGDANOV, Produktion: William Jéhannin, Produzent: William Jéhannin, Darsteller: Kinuko IDOGAWA, Yoshiko KANDA, Yoko TAMURA, Katsumi CHIBA, Yuriko NAKAJIMA, Kayako KIHARA, Ryo KIHARA, Chikako HIOKI, Hina HIOKI, Yuina HIOKI.

Ein virtuoser Dokumentarfilm über das erfolgreichste japanische Volleyballteam der Geschichte. 1962 gewannen die „Hexen“ die Weltmeisterschaft und 1964 Olympiagold. Mit 258 Siegen ohne Niederlage ist das Team in Japan bis heute eine Legende. In Gesprächen mit den gealterten Spielerinnen geht Regisseur Julien Faraut dem Mythos auf den Grund und wechselt gekonnt zwischen Interviews, Trainingsaufnahmen, Anime-Szenen, alten Fernsehbildern und Pop-Experimenten.

Seit 15 Jahren arbeitet Julien Faraut für das französische Sportinstitut (INSEP) und hat daher Zugang zu größtenteils ungesehenem 16-mm-Archivmaterial, um eine Brücke zwischen Sport, Kino und Kunst zu schlagen. Mit seiner Faszination für die unglaublichen Leistungen hochtalentierter Athleten und Athletinnen erforscht er auch in THE WITCHES OF THE ORIENT einzigartige Sportlerinnen mit den Mitteln des Films.

Julien Faraut, 1978 in Colombes/Frankreich geboren, studierte Geschichte und arbeitet für das Sportinstitut INSEP in Paris, für das er eine Sammlung von 16-mm-Filmen betreut. Auf Basis dieses Archivs montiert er Essayfilme an der Schnittstelle von Sportgeschichte und Dokumentarfilmästhetik. Sein Film JOHN MCENROE: IN THE REALM OF PERFECTION wurde 2018 bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Berlin gezeigt.

Filmografie: 2003–2009 MEMOIRE D’ENTRAINEUR, 2004 PARIS JEUX T’AIME, 2006 LA CREATIVITE DU VIDE, 2007 PERSPECTIVES RUGBYSTIQUES, 2008, APPARITIONS, 2009, UNE SEULE FOIS, 2010 PHRASES D’ARMES, 2011 TABLEAUX NOIR ÉCRAN LUMINEU, 2013 REGARD NEUF SUR OLYMPIA 52, 2014 ENTRAINEMENT, 2015 JJBALLET, 2018 JOHN MCENROE: IN THE REALM OF PERFECTION, 2021 THE WITCHES OF THE ORIENT

Kontakt
Lightdox
Schweiz
hello@lightdox.com
Telefon: +41 78 6370444