DARKDREAMERS [ALBTRÄUMER]

11/15/2020 03:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Germany 2020 94 min German original version with English subtitles

by Philipp Klinger

Script: Simon Thummet, Philipp Klinger, DoP: Adrian Langenbach, Editor: Bastian Epple, Production: kurhaus production, Producers: Christoph Holthof, Daniel Reich, Cast: Sarah Mahita, Béla Gabor Lenz, Stephan Szász, Birge Schade, Andreas Warmbrunn

17-year-old Rebekka is popular, the pride of her parents and has been with her boyfriend for a long time. A seemingly carefree life. But appearances are deceptive: two years ago, her older brother Dennis jumped to his death together with his best friend Vincent, who miraculously survived the fall. Since then, she has felt a deep emptiness within herself. She finally finds a way to access her pain through Vincent, who is cut off now, an outsider in the village community. Against her parents’ wishes, a love affair develops, one as healing as it is destructive. When the situation escalates, Rebekka dares to break out. A touching film on an important topic!

Raised in a conservative leaning village in the Black Forest/Germany, Philipp Klinger found refuge early on in art, theatre, writing and of course cinema. After graduating from high school as a Scheffel Award recipient and completing a media design apprenticeship, he worked as an editor and director’s assistant for feature films and advertising. With his first short film as an author and director, he managed to get accepted to Film Academy Baden-Württemberg, where he studied directing on a scholarship from the German Academic Scholarship Foundation. In 2014, he completed a semester abroad at Kadir Has University in Istanbul/Turkey. ALBTRÄUMER is his first feature-length film. Klinger lives and works in Berlin.

Filmography (selection): 2011 SAAT, 2014 AM ENDE LICHT, 2017 FEUERTAUFE (all short films), 2020 ALBTRÄUMER

Contact
kurhaus production
Norman Bernien
Germany
office@kurhausproduction.de
www.kurhausproduction.de

Short before

PENTIMENTO

ALBTRÄUMER

15.11.2020 15:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Deutschland 2020 94 Min. OmeU

von Philipp Klinger

Drehbuch: Simon Thummet, Philipp Klinger, Kamera: Adrian Langenbach, Schnitt: Bastian Epple, Produktion: kurhaus production, Produzenten: Christoph Holthof, Daniel Reich, Darsteller: Sarah Mahita, Béla Gabor Lenz, Stephan Szász, Birge Schade, Andreas Warmbrunn

Die 17-jährige Rebekka ist beliebt, der Stolz ihrer Eltern und schon lange mit ihrem Freund zusammen. Ein scheinbar unbeschwertes Leben. Doch der Schein trügt: Vor zwei Jahren sprang ihr älterer Bruder Dennis gemeinsam mit seinem besten Freund Vincent in den Tod. Seitdem fühlt sie in sich eine tiefe Leere. Über Vincent, der den Sturz wie durch ein Wunder überlebt hat und in der Dorfgemeinschaft als Außenseiter geschnitten wird, findet sie endlich Zugang zu ihrem Schmerz. Gegen den Widerstand ihrer Eltern entspinnt sich eine Liebesbeziehung, die ebenso heilsam wie zerstörerisch ist. Als die Lage eskaliert, wagt Rebekka den Ausbruch. Ein berührender Film zu einem (lebens-)wichtigen Thema!

Aufgewachsen in einem konservativ geprägten Dorf im Schwarzwald, fand Philipp Klinger früh Zuflucht in der Kunst, im Theater, im Schreiben und natürlich in der Filmkunst. Nach dem Abitur mit Scheffel-Preis-Auszeichnung und der Ausbildung zum Mediengestalter arbeitete er als Editor und Regieassistent bei Spielfilm und Werbung. Mit seinem ersten Kurzfilm als Autor und Regisseur gelang ihm die Aufnahme an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, an der er als Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes szenische Regie studierte. 2014 absolvierte er ein Auslandssemester an der Kadir Has University in Istanbul/Türkei. ALBTRÄUMER ist sein Langfilmdebüt; er lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2011 SAAT, 2014 AM ENDE LICHT, 2017 FEUERTAUFE (alles Kurzfilme), 2020 ALBTRÄUMER

Kontakt
kurhaus production
Norman Bernien
Deutschland
office@kurhausproduction.de
www.kurhausproduction.de

Vorfilm

PENTIMENTO