ANY DAY NOW

11/13/2021 05:30 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Finland 2020 82 min Finnish and Farsi original version with German and English subtitles
Local premiere

by Hamy Ramezan

Script: Hamy Ramezan, Antti Rautava, DoP: Arsen Sarkisiants, Editor: Joona Louhivuori, Production: : Aamu Film Company, Producer: Jussi Rantamäki, Emilia Haukka, Cast: Ramin Mehdipour, Bahman Mehdipour, Mahtab Mehdipour, Donya Mehdipour

A heart-rending film on escape and asylum: Ramin, 13, lives with his Iranian family in a Finnish refugee shelter. Just as he’s starting to enjoy his holidays, the family gets the news that their request for asylum has been rejected. The Mehdipours file a last appeal and try to get through the day in a positive way despite looming deportation, while keeping anxious thoughts at bay for Ramin and his sister. Moments of courage and joy, despair and worry all add to the loving portrait of a child and his family who, on the threshold of a new life, never lose their dignity.

“The family’s unspoken dedication to maintaining regularity and domesticity in the most uncomfortable scenarios – making their confined family cell into a home – is ANY DAY NOW’s most affecting attribute.” (www.slantmagazine.com)

Hamy Ramezan is a Finnish-Iranian film director and screenwriter and came to Finland as a political refugee in 1990. He graduated from the University for Creative Arts in Franham/United Kingdom in 2007 and has since completed several short films. His short film LISTEN premiered at Cannes Directors’ Fortnight 2015 and was nominated for Best Short Film at European Film Awards. ANY DAY NOW is his feature debut.

Filmography (selection): 2009 OVER THE FENCE, 2014 KEYS OF HEAVEN, 2015 LISTEN (all short films), 2020 ANY DAY NOW

Awards (selection): Nordisk Film Award for Best Director and Finnish Film Award for Best Leading Actor (Jussi Awards, Helsinki/Finland 2021), Tiantian Award for Best Supporting Actor (Beijing International Film Festival, China 2021)

Contact

New Europe Film Sales
Natalia Dąbrowska
Polen
natalia@neweuropefilmsales.com
www.neweuropefilmsales.com

ANY DAY NOW

13.11.2021 17:30 – Caligari FilmBühne

Finnland 2020 82 Min. finn.-farsi Omd+eU
Rhein-Main-Premiere

von Hamy Ramezan

Drehbuch: Hamy Ramezan, Antti Rautava, Kamera: Arsen Sarkisiants, Schnitt: Joona Louhivuori, Produktion: Aamu Film Company, Produzent: Jussi Rantamäki, Emilia Haukka, Darsteller: Ramin Mehdipour, Bahman Mehdipour, Mahtab Mehdipour, Donya Mehdipour

Ein herzergreifender Film über Flucht und Asyl: Der 13-jährige Ramin aus dem Iran lebt mit seiner Familie in einem Flüchtlingsheim in Finnland. Gerade als er beginnt, die Schulferien zu genießen, erhält die Familie die Nachricht, dass ihr Asylantrag abgelehnt wurde. Die Mehdipours legen Einspruch ein und versuchen, ihren Alltag trotz der drohenden Abschiebung positiv zu meistern und die Sorgen von Ramin und seiner Schwester fernzuhalten. So entsteht das Porträt eines Jungen und seiner Familie, die an der Schwelle zu einem neuen Leben hoffnungsvoll bleiben und ihre Würde bewahren.

„Das auf ein Kinderpublikum zugeschnittene Debütdrama [gewinnt] sein Publikum mit liebevoll entworfenen Figuren und sorgfältiger Beobachtung zärtlicher Alltagsszenen. An den entscheidenden Punkten kriegt die Dramaturgie immer wieder die Kurve zu rauem Realismus, der zum Nachdenken auffordert.“ (www.moviebreak.de)

Hamy Ramezan ist ein finnisch-iranischer Filmregisseur und Drehbuchautor und kam 1990 als politischer Flüchtling nach Finnland. 2007 machte er seinen Abschluss an der University for Creative Arts in Franham/Großbritannien und hat seitdem einige Kurzfilme gedreht. Sein Kurzfilm LISTEN wurde bei der Cannes Directors’ Fortnight 2015 uraufgeführt und für den Europäischen Filmpreis nominiert. ANY DAY NOW ist sein Spielfilmdebüt.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2009 OVER THE FENCE, 2014 KEYS OF HEAVEN, 2015 LISTEN (alles Kurzfilme), 2020 ANY DAY NOW

Auszeichnungen (Auswahl): Nordisk Film Award für die beste Regie und finnischer Filmpreis für den besten Hauptdarsteller (Jussi Awards, Helsinki/Finnland 2021), Tiantian Award für den besten Nebendarsteller (Beijing International Film Festival, Peking/China 2021)

Kontakt

New Europe Film Sales
Natalia Dąbrowska
Polen
natalia@neweuropefilmsales.com
www.neweuropefilmsales.com