ATLANTIDE

11/15/2021 05:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Italy 2021 90 min Italian original version with German and English subtitles
Local premiere 

by Yuri Ancarani

Script: Yuri Ancarani, DoP: Yuri Ancarani, Editor: Yuri Ancarani, Production: Dugong Films with Rai Cinema, Luxbox, Producer: Marco Alessi, Marta Tagliavia, Hédi Zardi, Fiorella Moretti, Cast: Daniele Barison, Maila Dabalà, Bianka Berenyi

In hypnotic images of a summer that refuses to end, ATLANTIDE tells the story of a masculine rite of passage. Outsider Daniele lives on an island on the edge of the Venetian Lagoon, where he dreams of owning an ultrafast motor boat, to show the boys his age who’s boss. Alas, everything he attempts in order to realise his dream and gain respect from the others proves tragically counterproductive. The decline that erodes the relationships, environment and habits of a rootless generation is observed from the timeless perspective of the Venetian landscape and its island outskirts: the point of no return is a foolish, vestigial tale of male initiation.

“Lowkey yet thrilling ATLANTIDE is a colourful subtle crime story that gradually turns more sinister driven forward by Mirco Mencacci’s majestic score in the closing stages, keeping us guessing until the final frame.” (https://filmuforia.com)

Yuri Ancarani, born in 1972, is an Italian video artist and director. His works come from a continuous mingling of documentary, cinema and art. With his film THE CHALLENGE he won the Special Jury Prize at Locarno in 2016 and in the same year was mentioned in the “New York Times” among the “Nine new directors you need to watch”. His works have been shown at numerous international museums and exhibitions, such as Venice Biennale and Solomon Guggenheim Museum in New York – and at several film festivals, among others in Locarno, Rotterdam, Vienna, Toronto and Venice.

Filmography (selection): 2010 IL CAPO, 2011 PIATAFORMA LUNA, 2012 DA VINCI, 2013 RICORDI PER MODERNI, 2014 SÉANCE, 2016 THE CHALLENGE, 2017 WHIPPING ZOMBIE, 2018 SAN VITTORE, 2021 ATLANTIDE

Contact

International Press Office
Gloria Zerbinati
gloria.zerbinati@gmail.com

Italian Press Office
Puntoevirgola
info@studiopuntoevirgola.com
puntoevirgolamediafarm.com

International Sales
Luxbox
info@luxboxfilms.com

ATLANTIDE

15.11.2021 17:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Italien 2021 90 Min. Omd+eU
Rhein-Main-Premiere

von Yuri Ancarani

Drehbuch: Yuri Ancarani, Kamera: Yuri Ancarani, Schnitt: Yuri Ancarani, Produktion: Dugong Films with Rai Cinema, Luxbox, Produzent: Marco Alessi, Marta Tagliavia, Hédi Zardi, Fiorella Moretti, Darsteller: Daniele Barison, Maila Dabalà, Bianka Berenyi

ATLANTIDE erzählt in hypnotischen Bildern von einem nie enden wollenden Sommer die Geschichte einer männlichen Initiation: Außenseiter Daniele lebt auf einer Insel am Rande der Lagune von Venedig und träumt von einem rekordverdächtig schnellen Motorboot, um den gleichaltrigen Jungs zu zeigen, wo der Hammer hängt. Aber alles, was er tut, um seinen Traum zu verwirklichen und sich den Respekt der anderen zu verschaffen, erweist sich als tragisch kontraproduktiv. Der Verfall, der die Beziehungen, die Umwelt und die Gewohnheiten einer entwurzelten Generation untergräbt, wird aus der zeitlosen Perspektive der venezianischen Landschaft und ihrer Inselvororte beobachtet: Der Punkt ohne Wiederkehr ist eine törichte, verkümmerte Geschichte der männlichen Initiation.

Yuri Ancarani, Jahrgang 1972, ist ein italienischer Videokünstler und Regisseur. Seine Werke sind ein eigenwilliger Mix aus Dokumentarfilm, Kino und Kunst. Mit seinem Film THE CHALLENGE gewann er 2016 den Spezialpreis der Jury in Locarno und wurde im selben Jahr in der „New York Times“ unter den „Nine new directors you need to watch“ erwähnt. Seine Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen Museen und Ausstellungen gezeigt, zum Beispiel auf der Biennale in Venedig und im Solomon Guggenheim Museum in New York – sowie auf mehreren Filmfestivals, unter anderem in Locarno, Rotterdam, Wien, Toronto und Venedig.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2010 IL CAPO, 2011 PIATAFORMA LUNA, 2012 DA VINCI, 2013 RICORDI PER MODERNI, 2014 SÉANCE, 2016 THE CHALLENGE, 2017 WHIPPING ZOMBIE, 2018 SAN VITTORE, 2021 ATLANTIDE

Kontakt

International Press Office
Gloria Zerbinati
gloria.zerbinati@gmail.com

Italian Press Office
Puntoevirgola
info@studiopuntoevirgola.com
puntoevirgolamediafarm.com

International Sales
Luxbox
info@luxboxfilms.com