DON’T FORGET TO BREATHE [NE POZABI DIHATI]

11/15/2020 05:30 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Slovenia/Italy/Croatia 2019 98 min Slovenian original version with German and English subtitles
German premiere

by Martin Turk

Script: Martin Turk, Gorazd Trušnovec, DoP: Radislav Jovanov, Editor: Giuseppe Leonetti, Production: Bela Film D.O.O., Producer: Ida Weiss, Cast: Matija Valant, Tine Ugrin, Klara Kuk, Ronja Matijevec Jerman, Nikola Djuricko, Iva Krajnc

Klemen (15) adores his brother Peter (18) who is also his idol and best friend. The boys, raised by a single mother, are growing up in a small countryside town, spending their days on the tennis court, training to be champions. When Peter falls in love with the beautiful Sonja, Klemen’s world starts disintegrating. He feels anger towards his brother’s voluptuous girlfriend who is bringing radical change into their life, while at the same time being hopelessly drawn to her feminine sensuality. DON’T FORGET TO BREATHE is an atmospheric and intimate coming of age drama about the fragility of teenage period, jealousy, erotics and the inevitable process of accepting that the world is changing.

“With his film DON’T FORGET TO BREATHE, Martin Turk reaches into the densely populated genre territory, and by directing it he has created one of the most outstanding recent Slovenian films.” (www.vecer.com)

More information

Martin Turk, born in Trieste/Italy in 1978, is a member of the Slovenian ethnic minority that lives in Italy. He enrolled the Academy of Theatre, Radio, Film and Television in Ljubljana (AGRFT) in Slovenia in 1998 and graduated in 2004. In 2000, he made his first film, the documentary short film TWICE A WEEK. His diploma work, short film THE EXCURSION, won several international awards. His professional debut film A SLICE OF LIFE was presented at several international film festivals and won the prize for the best Slovenian short film at the festival of Slovenian film 2006. Since the, he has made various short and feature films that were screened at numerous festivals and won several awards.

Filmography (selection): 2000 TWICE A WEEK, 2003 THE EXCURSION, 2006 A SLICE OF LIFE, 2008 EVERYDAY IS NOT THE SAME, 2012 FEED ME WITH YOUR WORDS, 2017 SUNDAY MORNING, 2018 A GOOD DAY’S WORK, 2019 DON’T FORGET TO BREATHE


Contact
intramovies
Maria Lanfranchi
Italy
maria@intramovies.com
www.intramovies.com

Short before

MALL

DON’T FORGET TO BREATHE [NE POZABI DIHATI]

15.11.2020 17:30 – Caligari FilmBühne

Slowenien/Italien/Kroatien 2019 98 Min. slow. Omd+eU
Deutschland-Premiere

von Martin Turk

Drehbuch: Martin Turk, Gorazd Trušnovec, Kamera: Radislav Jovanov, Schnitt: Giuseppe Leonetti, Produktion: Bela Film D.O.O., Produzentin: Ida Weiss, Darsteller: Matija Valant, Tine Ugrin, Klara Kuk, Ronja Matijevec Jerman, Nikola Djuricko, Iva Krajnc

Klemen (15) verehrt seinen Bruder Peter (18), der auch sein Idol und bester Freund ist. Die Jungen, die von einer alleinerziehenden Mutter aufgezogen werden, wachsen in einer Kleinstadt auf dem Land auf, verbringen ihre Tage auf dem Tennisplatz und trainieren, um Champions zu werden. Als Peter sich in die schöne Sonja verliebt, beginnt sich Klemens Welt aufzulösen. Er ist wütend auf die Freundin seines Bruders, die radikale Veränderungen in ihr Leben bringt, während er sich gleichzeitig hoffnungslos von ihrer weiblichen Sinnlichkeit angezogen fühlt. DON’T FORGET TO BREATHE ist ein atmosphärisch dichtes und intimes Coming-of-Age-Drama über die Zerbrechlichkeit der Teenagerzeit, Eifersucht, Erotik und die unvermeidliche Akzeptanz, dass sich die Welt verändert.

„Mit seinem Film DON’T FORGET TO BREATHE erreicht Martin Turk das dicht besetzte Genreterritorium und hat mit seiner Regie einen der herausragendsten slowenischen Filme der jüngsten Zeit geschaffen.“ (www.vecer.com)

Weitere Informationen

Martin Turk, 1978 in Triest/Italien geboren, ist Mitglied der slowenischen ethnischen Minderheit, die in Italien lebt. Er schrieb sich 1998 an der Akademie für Theater, Radio, Film und Fernsehen in Ljubljana (AGRFT) in Slowenien ein und schloss sein Studium 2004 ab. Im Jahr 2000 drehte er seinen ersten Film, den dokumentarischen Kurzfilm TWICE A WEEK. Seine Diplomarbeit, der Kurzfilm THE EXCURSION, gewann mehrere internationale Preise. Sein professioneller Debütfilm A SLICE OF LIFE wurde auf mehreren internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt und gewann den Preis für den besten slowenischen Kurzfilm auf dem Festival des slowenischen Films 2006. Seitdem hat er verschiedene Kurz- und Spielfilme gedreht, die auf zahlreichen Festivals gezeigt wurden und mehrere Preise gewannen.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2000 TWICE A WEEK, 2003 THE EXCURSION, 2006 A SLICE OF LIFE, 2008 EVERYDAY IS NOT THE SAME, 2012 FEED ME WITH YOUR WORDS, 2017 SUNDAY MORNING, 2018 A GOOD DAY’S WORK, 2019 DON’T FORGET TO BREATHE


Kontakt
intramovies
Maria Lanfranchi
Italien
maria@intramovies.com
www.intramovies.com

Vorfilm

MALL