GIRL


11/20/2019 10:30 am – Caligari FilmBühne

Belgium/Netherlands 2018 105 min French-Flemish-English original version with German subtitles

by Lukas Dhont

Script: Lukas Dhont, Angelo Tijssens, DoP: Frank van den Eeden, Editor: Alain Dessauvage, Producer: Dirk Impens, Production: Menuet Producties, Frakas Productions, Topkapi Films, Cast: Victor Polster, Arieh Worthalter, Katelijne Damen, Valentijn Dhaenens

GIRL tells the story of 15-year-old Lara who wants to become a ballerina, with a classical training for female dancers. Lara is accepted in a ballet school and her dream seems closer than ever. But there is one problem: Lara was born into the body of a boy. A body that she will push to its limits in order for her to succeed. The exhausting training sessions force Lara to harm herself, which in turn puts her plans for surgery in jeopardy. When the doctors finally forbid her from doing ballet, Lara makes a momentous decision, one intended to help her become a woman once and for all.

More information: https://www.universumfilm.de/filme/150653.html

Lukas Dhont was born in Ghent/Belgium, where he graduated with a degree in audio-visual media from KASK School of Arts. With his short films CORPS PERDU and L‘INFINI, he won numerous awards. L‘INFINI also qualified in 2015 for the short list for an Oscar nomination in the category of best short film. During his studies, Dhont focused on fictional narrative filmmaking, though he also devoted attention to the field of documentary cinema. In 2016, he participated in the Résidence du Festival programme of Cinéfondation Cannes with the screenplay for his feature film debut GIRL. In this film, Dhont brings together elements from his previous works, such as dance, transformation and identity.

Filmography: 2012 CORPS PERDU; SKIN OF GLASS, 2014 L‘INFINI (all short films), 2018 GIRL

Awards (selection): FIPRESCI Prize and Director Award in the section “Un Certain Regard”, Golden Camera and Queer Palm for Lukas Dhont (International Film Festival Cannes, France 2018)

Contact
Universum Film
Germany
www.universumfilm.de

Short before

ALMA

GIRL


20.11.2019 10:30 – Caligari FilmBühne

Belgien/Niederlande 2018 105 Min. frz.-fläm.-engl. OmU

von Lukas Dhont

Drehbuch: Lukas Dhont, Angelo Tijssens, Kamera: Frank van den Eeden, Schnitt: Alain Dessauvage, Produzent: Dirk Impens, Produktion: Menuet Producties, Frakas Productions, Topkapi Films, Darsteller: Victor Polster, Arieh Worthalter, Katelijne Damen, Valentijn Dhaenens

Lara ist 15 und hat einen Traum: Sie will Balletttänzerin werden. Als sie an einer renommierten Akademie unter Vorbehalt angenommen wird, zieht sie mit ihrem Vater und ihrem kleinen Bruder nach Brüssel. Währenddessen versucht Lara noch einen zweiten Kampf zu gewinnen: Sie will sich einer Geschlechtsumwandlung unterziehen. Äußerlich ist sie bereits ein Mädchen, doch ihr Körper ist noch der eines Jungen. Ihr Vater unterstützt sie bei ihrem Vorhaben, begleitet seine Tochter bei jedem Schritt und ist für sie da, genau wie Psychologen und Ärzte. Das kräftezehrende Training zwingt Lara schließlich zur Selbstkasteiung, mit der sie wiederum ihre Operation aufs Spiel setzt. Als die Ärzte ihr schließlich das Ballett verbieten, trifft Lara eine folgenschwere Entscheidung, mit der sie endgültig zur Frau werden will.

Weitere Informationen: https://www.universumfilm.de/filme/150653.html

Lukas Dhont, im belgischen Gent geboren, absolvierte dort sein Studium in Audiovisuellen Medien an der KASK School of Arts. Mit seinen Kurzfilmen CORPS PERDU und L‘INFINI gewann er zahlreiche Preise. L‘INFINI qualifizierte sich zudem 2015 für die engere Auswahl für eine Oscar-Nominierung in der Kategorie „Bester Kurzfilm“. Während seines Studiums legte er sein Hauptaugenmerk auf fiktive Erzählungen, beschäftigte sich jedoch auch mit dem Thema Dokumentarfilm. Im Jahr 2016 war er mit dem Drehbuch zu seinem Langfilmdebüt GIRL Teil des „Résidence du Festival“-Programms der Cinéfondation Cannes. In diesem Film vereint Dhont Elemente aus seinen vorherigen Werken wie Tanz, Transformation und Identität.

Filmografie: 2012 CORPS PERDU; SKIN OF GLASS, 2014 L‘INFINI (alles Kurzfilme), 2018 GIRL

Auszeichnungen (Auswahl): FIPRESCI-Preis und Regiepreis in der Reihe „Un Certain Regard“, Goldene Kamera und Queer Palm an Lukas Dhont (Internationale Filmfestspiele Cannes, Frankreich 2018)

Kontakt
Universum Film
Deutschland
www.universumfilm.de

Vorfilm

ALMA