JAWLINE


11/17/2019 03:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

United States 2019 99 min English original version with German subtitles

by Liza Mandelup

DoP: Noah Collier, Editor: Alex O’Flinn, Music: Kai Hugo Karstanje, Producers: Bert Hamelinck, Hannah Reyer, Sacha Ben Harroche, Lauren Cioffi, Production: Caviar, with: Austyn Tester, Donavan Tester, Michael Weist, Julian Jara, Jovani Jara

Austyn Tester – handsome and 16 – feels oppressed by the confines of life in his small hometown in Tennessee. But in the online-streaming world, Austyn is adored by thousands of young girls, all eager for his “likes”, his attention, or just to hear him say their name. For Austyn and many like him, a big enough fan base could mean a ticket out of rural America and into a new life of wealth and fame – quite the undertaking when you’re coming of age. JAWLINE delivers us into this burgeoning online world as Austyn is discovered by a manager and sets off on a U.S. tour to build his following and make his dreams come true.

“Liza Mandelup’s documentary is an eye-opening look at the realities of teenage social media stardom” (Hollywood Reporter)

More information: http://www.autlookfilms.com/index.php?option=com_wrapper&view=wrapper&Itemid=145&id=348

Liza Mandelup is a film director from New York residing in Los Angeles. She has published two photo books and shown her work in numerous exhibitions. She has been a longtime collaborator for many online platforms such as Vogue, Nowness, i-D, and Dazed, as well as having directed numerous films for many other premiere editorial platforms. She was featured on Filmmaker Magazine’s “25 New Faces of Independent Film 2017”. She made the short film FANGIRL (2016), which was also about live chats, then SUNDOWN (2016), and SHOWPONY (2018). Currently, she is in production on her second feature film.

Awards (selection): U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Breakthrough Filmmaker (Sundance Film Festival, USA 2019), Special Mention of the Youth Jury (Sheffield International Documentary Festival, Great Britain 2019)

Contact
AUTLOOK Filmsales
Stephanie Fuchs
Austria
stephanie@autlookfilms.com
www.autlookfilms.com

Short before

YOUNGVODKA_

JAWLINE


17.11.2019 15:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

USA 2019 99 Min. OmU

von Liza Mandelup

Kamera: Noah Collier, Schnitt: Alex O’Flinn, Musik: Kai Hugo Karstanje, Produzenten: Bert Hamelinck, Hannah Reyer, Sacha Ben Harroche, Lauren Cioffi, Produktion: Caviar, mit: Austyn Tester, Donavan Tester, Michael Weist, Julian Jara, Jovani Jara

„Boy Broadcasts“ – das sind eigene Ökosysteme. Internetwelten, in denen es keine Erwachsenen braucht. In ihnen präsentieren sich junge Männer live vor der Kamera, während ihnen eine Schar junger weiblicher Fans vor den Bildschirmen folgt. Die Mädchen wollen mit ihrem Schwarm interagieren, die Jungs vor der Kamera träumen von Ruhm und Geld. Auch Austyn Tester möchte mit seinen 16 Jahren eine solche Karriere einschlagen, weil er darin die Chance sieht, dem ländlichen Tennessee entkommen zu können.

Doch dieser amerikanische Traum hält selten, was er verspricht. Regisseurin Liza Mandelup fängt die Fantasien und Wünsche ihrer Protagonisten ein, ihr Dokumentarfilm selbst ist träumerisch und strahlt etwas Verbotenes aus. Schließlich handelt er von jungen Männern, die sich in dieser vom Kapitalismus diktierten Welt offenbaren – und dringt selbst in ihr Seelenleben ein.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.autlookfilms.com/index.php?option=com_wrapper&view=wrapper&Itemid=145&id=348

Liza Mandelup wurde 1988 in New York geboren und lebt in Los Angeles. Sie hat zwei Bildbände publiziert und zeigte ihre Fotografien auf zahlreichen Ausstellungen. Für Onlineplattformen wie Vogue, Nowness und Dazed drehte sie diverse kurze Filme. Außerdem arbeitete sie als Casting-Scout und suchte dabei nach neuen, interessanten Gesichtern auf der Straße. Die Zeitschrift „Filmmaker Magazine“ kürte sie wiederum selbst 2017 zu einem der 25 neuen Gesichter des Independent Films. Sie drehte den Kurzfilm FANGIRL (2016), der ebenfalls von Live-Chats handelte, sowie SUNDOWN (2016) und SHOWPONY (2018). Zurzeit produziert sie ihren zweiten Langfilm.

Auszeichnungen (Auswahl): U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Breakthrough Filmmaker (Sundance Film Festival, USA 2019), Lobende Erwähnung der Jugendjury (Sheffield International Documentary Festival, Großbritannien 2019)

Kontakt
AUTLOOK Filmsales
Stephanie Fuchs
Österreich
stephanie@autlookfilms.com
www.autlookfilms.com

Vorfilm

YOUNGVODKA_