LOOKING FOR VENERA [NË KËRKIM TË VENERËS]

11/17/2021 05:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Kosovo 2021 111 min Albanian original version with German and English subtitles

by Norika Sefa

Script: Norika Sefa, DoP: Luis Armando Arteaga, Editor: Stefan Stabenow, Norika Sefa, Production: Circle Production, Producer: Besnik Krapi, Cast: Kosovare Krasniqi, Erjona Kakeli, Rozafa Celaj, Basri Lushtaku

Venera grows up in an intergenerational household in Kosovo – under the constant control of the men of her native village. She doesn’t want to end up like her mother, no way, a conviction she shares with her rebellious friend Dorina, who already has a boyfriend and takes liberties that are fascinating and new for Venera. Inside, a longing for freedom has awakened, and quickly encounters obstacles…

But how can Venera make her own choices if there isn’t really much to choose from? The distinctive soundtrack and delicate, observational camerawork add a documentary feel to this intimate coming-of-age story. While Venera’s hunger for freedom only grows, she sees Dorina give in to the demands of her family. Now, she must choose for herself…

Norika Sefa is a Kosovo-born filmmaker. Her films are heterogeneous in style, merging fiction and documentary, pieces that create atmosphere rather than stick to a conventional narrative. Recently, she made KISS ME, NOW, along with DESDE ARRIBA, two hybrid documentaries. The last one was made under the guidance of Werner Herzog in the Peruvian jungle. LOOKING FOR VENERA is her first feature film and premiered at the Rotterdam International Film Festival.

Filmography (selection): 2016 FLUTTER, 2020 DESDE ARRIBA, 2020 KISS ME, NOW, 2021 LOOKING FOR VENERA

Awards (selection): Special Jury Award in the Tiger competition (International Film Festival Rotterdam, Netherlands 2021), Jury Award for Best Actress (Valencia International Film Festival, Spain 2021)

Contact

Circle Production
Besnik Krapi
Str. Muharrem Fejza, Art Construction, B1, K7, No 47
10000 Prishtinë, Kosovo
Phone: +383 49 361727
circleproduction.ks@gmail.com
besnik.krapi@gmail.com

Short before

LIONESS [LEEUWIN]

LOOKING FOR VENERA [NË KËRKIM TË VENERËS]

17.11.2021 17:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Kosovo 2021 111 Min. alban. Omd+eU

von Norika Sefa

Drehbuch: Norika Sefa, Kamera: Luis Armando Arteaga, Schnitt: Stefan Stabenow, Norika Sefa, Produktion: Circle Production, Produzent: Besnik Krapi, Darsteller: Kosovare Krasniqi, Erjona Kakeli, Rozafa Celaj, Basri Lushtaku

Ein subtil beobachtetes Filmdebüt aus dem Kosovo: Venera wächst in einem Mehrgenerationenhaushalt im Kosovo auf – unter ständiger Kontrolle durch die Männer ihres Heimatdorfes. Sie will auf keinen Fall so enden wie ihre Mutter, da ist sie sich mit ihrer rebellischen Freundin Dorina einig, die schon einen Freund hat und sich Freiheiten herausnimmt, die für Venera faszinierend neu sind. Ihre Sehnsucht nach Freiheit ist geweckt und stößt schnell an Grenzen.

Denn wie kann Venera ihre eigenen Entscheidungen treffen, wenn es nicht wirklich viel zur Auswahl gibt? Der markante Soundtrack und die feinfühlige, beobachtende Kameraführung verleihen dieser intimen Coming-of-Age-Geschichte einen dokumentarischen Charakter. Während Veneras Drang nach Freiheit immer größer wird, muss sie mit ansehen, wie Dorina den Forderungen ihrer Familie nachgibt. Jetzt muss sie sich selbst entscheiden …

Norika Sefa ist eine im Kosovo geborene Filmemacherin. Ihre Filme zeichnen sich durch eine eigenwillige Mixtur aus Fiktion und Dokumentarfilm aus. Sie erzeugen eher eine Atmosphäre, als dass sie einer konventionellen Erzählung folgen. Kürzlich drehte sie KISS ME, NOW und DESDE ARRIBA, zwei hybride Dokumentarfilme. Letzterer wurde unter der Leitung von Werner Herzog im Dschungel von Peru gedreht. Ihr erster Spielfilm, LOOKING FOR VENERA, wurde auf dem Filmfestival in Rotterdam uraufgeführt.

Filmografie (Auswahl): 2016 FLUTTER, 2020 DESDE ARRIBA, 2020 KISS ME, NOW, 2021 LOOKING FOR VENERA

Auszeichnungen (Auswahl): Spezialpreis der Jury im Tiger-Wettbewerb (Internationales Filmfestival Rotterdam, Niederlande 2021), Jurypreis für die beste Darstellerin (Valencia International Film Festival, Spanien 2021)

Kontakt

Circle Production
Besnik Krapi
Str. Muharrem Fejza, Art Construction, B1, K7, No 47
10000 Prishtinë, Kosovo
Telefon: +383 49 361727
circleproduction.ks@gmail.com
besnik.krapi@gmail.com