NEVIA

11/16/2020 05:00 pm – Murnau-Filmtheater

Italy 2019 86 min Italian original version with German and English subtitles
German premiere

by Nunzia De Stefano

Script: Nunzia De Stefano, Chiara Atalanta Ridolfi, DoP: Guido Michelotti, Editor: Sarah McTeigue, Production: Archimede, Rai Cinema, Producers: Matteo Garrone, Alessio Lazzareschi, Davide Tovi, Cast: Virginia Apicella, Pietra Montecorvino, Rosi Franzese, Pietro Ragusa, Franca Abategiovanni

Nevia (17) lives in the suburbs of Naples with her little sister Enza, their aunt Lucia and their grandmother Nana. She is a stubborn teenager, determined to get from life much more than fate has planned for her, but it’s hard to be a girl in a place where only men can make the rules. Until one day, a circus comes to town, changing Nevia’s life and giving her new hope.

“The roots of the movie are autobiographical, and this can be seen in the passion injected into the film and the empathy that is so clearly felt for the young protagonist, played by a surprising Virginia Apicella. De Stefano herself lived in the Marianella container park in Naples for ten years, as she and her family waited to be provided with suitable accommodation following the violent earthquake in 1980 which forced them to evacuate the family home.” (https://cineuropa.org)

More information

Nunzia De Stefano, born in Naples/Italy, worked with Matteo Garrone from 2008 to 2018 on the production of the feature films GOMORRA, REALITY, TALES OF TALE and DOGMAN. NEVIA is her first feature film and was selected for the competition at the Venice International Film festival 2019 in the “Orizzonti” section.

Auszeichnungen: Lizzani Award for Best Director (Venice International Film Festival, Italy 2019), Golden Globe (Italy) for Best Breakthrough Actress to Virginia Apicella (Golden Globes, Italy, Rome 2020)

Contact
True Colours
Fabio Tucci
Italy
fabio@truecolours.it
www.truecolours.it

Short before

UNLEADED [SANS PLOMB]

NEVIA

16.11.2020 17:00 – Murnau-Filmtheater

Italien 2019 86 Min. Omd+eU
Deutschland-Premiere

von Nunzia De Stefano

Drehbuch: Nunzia De Stefano, Chiara Atalanta Ridolfi, Kamera: Guido Michelotti, Schnitt: Sarah McTeigue, Produktion: Archimede, Rai Cinema, Produzenten: Matteo Garrone, Alessio Lazzareschi, Davide Tovi, Darsteller: Virginia Apicella, Pietra Montecorvino, Rosi Franzese, Pietro Ragusa, Franca Abategiovanni

Aufgewachsen ohne Eltern in einem Vorort Neapels, will die 17-jährige Nevia die Dinge anders machen als ihr Umfeld. Aber Armut hat ihre eigenen Regeln, und zudem muss sie sich der Avancen des älteren Salvatore erwehren. Als ein Zirkus in die Stadt kommt, ergreift sie ihre Chance. Im Kreis der Tiere und Artisten fühlt sie sich einer Ersatzfamilie nahe, doch ihr Leben holt sie wieder ein.

„Die Wurzeln des Films sind autobiografisch, und das zeigt sich in der Leidenschaft, die in den Film eingeflossen ist, und in der Empathie, die so deutlich für die junge Protagonistin zum Ausdruck gebracht wird, gespielt von einer erstaunlichen Virginia Apicella. De Stefano selbst lebte zehn Jahre lang im Containerpark Marianella in Neapel, als sie und ihre Familie nach dem furchbaren Erdbeben von 1980, das sie zwang, das Familienhaus zu verlassen, auf eine geeignete Unterkunft warteten.“ (https://cineuropa.org)

Weitere Informationen

Nunzia De Stefano, geboren in Neapel/Italien, arbeitete von 2008 bis 2018 mit Matteo Garrone an der Produktion der Langfilme GOMORRA, REALITY, TALES OF TALE und DOGMAN. NEVIA ist ihr Debüt als Spielfilmregisseurin; der Film wurde 2019 für den Wettbewerb der Internationalen Filmfestspiele von Venedig ausgewählt – in der Festivalsektion „Orizzonti“.

Auszeichnungen: Lizzani Award für die beste Regie (Internationale Filmfestspiele von Venedig, Italien 2019), Golden Globe (Italien) für die beste Nachwuchsschauspielerin an Virginia Apicella (Golden Globes, Italy, Rom 2020)

Kontakt
True Colours
Fabio Tucci
Italien
fabio@truecolours.it
www.truecolours.it