RESPETO


11/22/2018 17:30 – Caligari FilmBühne
11/28/2018 20:15 – Orfeos Erben

Philippines 2018 99 min original version with German and English subtitles

by Alberto “Treb” Monteras II

Script: Njel de Mesa, Alberto Monteras II, DoP: Ike Avellana, Editor: Lawrence S. Ang, Production: Arkeofilms, Producer: Monster Jimenez, Cast: Abra, Dido de la Paz, Loonie, Chai Fonacier, Sylvester, Nor Domingo, Kate Alejandrino, Brian Arda, Thea Ystaroza

​Hendrix dreams of hip-hop greatness, but he’s spiraling down a rabbit-hole of crime and poverty until he meets Doc, an old poet still haunted by his martial law past. Can they turn each other’s lives around before they’re swallowed by their circumstance? The film celebrates the power of verses. This movie is charged with music, rap and poetry expressing the era of violence in the Philippines today.

“RESPETO tried to balance between a musical and historical drama, but the naivety of the first disrupted the brilliance of the latter. The parallel between hip-hop and radical poetry is interesting and most accurate, but the storyline was too focused on the mediocre main character and his attempts to get famous. Nevertheless, Respeto is a great starting point for Alberto Monteras II and the second feature is well worth anticipating.” (easternkicks.com, Maja Korbecka)

Since 2004, Alberto „Treb“ Monteras II has been directing top-rating TV shows, commercials, live concerts and over 300 music videos to his name. He has done album cover shoots for some of the country’s best artists as well. In 2011, he won in “Nokia Europe’s N8 Producers International Film Competition”. He was already doing animation at the tender age of six, using coins and his father’s video camera. During his childhood, he attended summer courses on painting at the Metropolitan Museum.He is a BFA Advertising Arts Graduate from the UST College of Fine Arts and Design and also a recipient of the Quezon Leadership Award. He continued to hone his skills at the Mowelfund Film Institute and the International Institute for Film and the Arts. Recently, he attended the American Cinematographers’ Masterclass in Los Angeles, California. RESPETO is his first feature film.

Awards (selection): Audience Award for Best Film, Balanghai Trophy for Best Editing, for Best Cinematography and for Best Supporting Actor (Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival, Manila/Philippines 2017), Audience Award in the section “Glocal Images” to Alberto „Treb“ Monteras II (Cyprus Film Days, Limassol/Nikosia 2018)

Contact
STRAY DOGS
Lison Hervé
France
lison@stray-dogs.com
www.stray-dogs.biz

RESPETO


22.11.2018 17:30 – Caligari FilmBühne
28.11.2018 20:15 – Orfeos Erben

Philippinen 2018 99 Min. Omd+eU

von Alberto „Treb“ Monteras II

Drehbuch: Njel de Mesa, Alberto Monteras II, Kamera: Ike Avellana, Schnitt: Lawrence S. Ang, Produktion: Arkeofilms, Produzent: Monster Jimenez, Darsteller: Abra, Dido de la Paz, Loonie, Chai Fonacier, Sylvester, Nor Domingo, Kate Alejandrino, Brian Arda, Thea Ystaroza

Ein Coming-of-Age-Drama aus dem Land unseres diesjährigen Länderschwerpunkts: Hendrix (beeindruckend: Hip-Hop-Star Abra) träumt davon, als Rapper die Pandacan-Slums von Manila hinter sich zu lassen. Doch Rap ist nur eine Stimme in diesem hochpolitischen Filmkommentar zu den gesellschaftlichen Verhältnissen auf den Philippinen unter dem neuen Präsidenten Duterte, die geprägt sind von Unterdrückung, Willkür und beispielloser Gewalt.

„Young Abra ist ein sehr charismatischer Künstler, der nicht nur lächerlich gut aussieht, sondern auch eine natürliche Intensität hat, die mich glauben lässt, dass er eine sehr erfolgreiche Karriere vor sich haben könnte. Er hält die Aufmerksamkeit des Publikums aufrecht, wenn er auf der Leinwand zu sehen ist (was die meiste Zeit der Fall ist). Er hebt sich deutlich vom Rest der Besetzung ab – sogar von Dido de la Paz, der ein paar wirklich gute Momente mit dem jungen Schauspieler hat.“ (carlosdev.wordpress.com, Carlos de Villalvilla)

Seit 2004 hat Alberto „Treb“ Monteras II Regie bei hochkarätigen TV-Shows, Werbespots, Live-Konzerten und über 300 Musikvideos geführt. Er machte auch Cover-Shootings für einige der besten Künstler des Landes. Im Jahr 2011 gewann er den „Nokia Europe’s N8 Producers International Film Competition“. Schon im zarten Alter von sechs Jahren erstellte er Animationen mit Münzen und der Videokamera seines Vaters. In seiner Kindheit besuchte er Sommerkurse für Malerei im Metropolitan Museum. Er hat einen BFA in Werbegrafik vom UST College of Fine Arts and Design und erhielt den Quezon Leadership Award. Seine Fähigkeiten verfeinerte er am Mowelfund Film Institute und am International Institute for Film and the Arts. Vor kurzem besuchte er die „American Cinematographers“-Meisterklasse in Los Angeles. RESPETO ist sein erster Spielfilm.

Auszeichnungen (Auswahl): Publikumspreis für den besten Film, Balanghai Trophy für besten Schnitt, beste Kamera und besten Nebendarsteller (Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival, Manila/Philippinen 2017), Publikumspreis in der Sektion „Glocal Images“ an Alberto „Treb“ Monteras II (Cyprus Film Days, Limassol/Nikosia – Zypern 2018)

Kontakt
STRAY DOGS
Lison Hervé
Frankreich
lison@stray-dogs.com
www.stray-dogs.biz