SOUL KIDS

11/14/2021 03:00 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

France 2021 75 min English original version with German subtitles

by Hugo Sobelman

Script: Hugo Sobelman, DoP: Dorian Hays, Editor: Maxime Mathis, Production: GOGOGO Films & Srab Films, Producer: Toufik Ayadi, Christophe Barral, Carine Ruszniewski

In Memphis, one of the most damaged cities in America, the Stax Music Academy is seen as a safe harbor. This musical after-school program was founded on the legacy of the legendary 1960s label that accompanied the fight for Civil Rights. It allows teenagers to learn and understand Black-Americans history through the greatest Soul hits. A musical time travel and a dive into the minds of a new generation.

“‘What has changed since 1968?” asks a lecturer. Student Rachel says: ‘White people stop being disrespectful to black people. But I see black people starting to be disrespectful to white people’ – ‘Where did you see that?’ – ‘In my class. We’re no better than they were.’ The point is not without controversy. SOUL KIDS is a stunning documentary about music and passion, about racism and courage and hope.” (Frankfurter Rundschau)

Hugo Sobelman is a French director based in Paris. He started his career as an assistant director on films such as QUEEN OF MONTREUIL. Later, he worked as a freelance camera operator and editor in Paris and London for Ad Vitam, Agat Films, Rectangle and The Bureau. His directing debut came in 2014 when he made a dozen music videos for the independent record company X-RAY. In 2020, he debuted with his first two feature-length documentaries: GOLDA MARIA had its world premiere at the Berlin International Film Festival, and SOUL KIDS was awarded Best Musical Documentary at the film festival in Lussas/France.

Filmography (selection): 2020 GOLDA MARIA, 2021 SOUL KIDS

Award: Award for Best Musical Documentary (États Généraux du Film Documentaire, Lussas/France 2021)

Contact

The Party Film Sales
Théo Lionel
9 Rue Ambroise Thomas
75009 Paris
France
Phone: + 33 1 40229215
theo.lionel@thepartysales.com

Short before

DỌLÁPỌ̀ IS FINE

SOUL KIDS

14.11.2021 15:00 – Caligari FilmBühne

Frankreich 2021 75 Min. engl. OmdU

von Hugo Sobelman

Drehbuch: Hugo Sobelman, Kamera: Dorian Hays, Schnitt: Maxime Mathis, Produktion: GOGOGO Films & Srab Films, Produzent: Toufik Ayadi, Christophe Barral, Carine Ruszniewski

Memphis, Tennessee – eine der ärmsten Städte der USA und Heimat der Stax Music Academy. Ein Zufluchtsort für schwarze Jugendliche aus schwierigen Verhältnissen. Und eine Oase der Soul-Musik. Die Akademie führt das Erbe von Stax Records fort, dem legendären Soul-Label der 1960er-Jahre. Über das Verstehen dieser Musik in außerschulischen Programmen tauchen Teenager ins Erbe der Afroamerikaner ein und öffnen sich für neue Zukunftsperspektiven.

„,Was sich seit 1968 verändert habe, fragt ein Dozent. Schülerin Rachel sagt: ,Weiße hören auf, respektlos zu Schwarzen zu sein. Aber ich sehe Schwarze, die anfangen, respektlos zu Weißen zu sein.‘ – ,Wo hast du das gesehen?‘ – ,In meiner Klasse. Wir sind nicht besser, als sie es waren.‘ Der Standpunkt ist nicht unumstritten. SOUL KIDS ist ein umwerfender Dokumentarfilm über Musik und Leidenschaft, über Rassismus und Mut und Hoffnung.“ (Frankfurter Rundschau)

Hugo Sobelman ist ein französischer Regisseur, der in Paris lebt. Er begann seine Karriere als Regieassistent bei Filmen wie QUEEN OF MONTREUIL. Später arbeitete er als freiberuflicher Kameramann und Cutter in Paris und London für Ad Vitam, Agat Films, Rectangle und The Bureau. Sein Regiedebüt gab er 2014, als er ein Dutzend Musikvideos für die unabhängige Plattenfirma X-RAY drehte. Im Jahr 2020 debütierte er mit seinen ersten beiden Dokumentarfilmen in Spielfilmlänge: GOLDA MARIA feierte seine Weltpremiere auf den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin, und SOUL KIDS wurde auf dem Filmfestival in Lussas/Frankreich als bester Musikdokumentarfilm ausgezeichnet.

Filmography (selection): 2020 GOLDA MARIA, 2021 SOUL KIDS

Auszeichnungen: Preis für die beste Musikdokumentation (États Généraux du Film Documentaire, Lussas/Frankreich 2021)

Kontakt

The Party Film Sales
Théo Lionel
9 Rue Ambroise Thomas
75009 Paris
Frankreich
Telefon: + 33 1 40229215
theo.lionel@thepartysales.com