THE ORPHANAGE [PARWARESHGAH]


11/16/2019 05:30 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

Denmark/Germany/France/Luxembourg/Afghanistan/Qatar 2019 90 min Dari-Russian-Hindi-Urdu original version with German and English subtitles

by Shahrbanoo Sadat

Script: Shahrbanoo Sadat, DoP: Virginie Sudej, Editor: Alexandra Strauss, Sound: Sigrid DPA Jensen, Anne Gry Friis Kristensen, Producer: Katja Adomeit, Production: Adomeit Film, Cast: Qodratollah Qadiri, Sediqa Rasuli, Masihullah Feraji, Hasibullah Rasooli, Ahmad Fayaz Omani, Anwar Hashimi

Afghanistan in the late 1980s: 15-year-old Qodrat lives for cinema. It’s not only the fact that his rich inner life is like one big Bollywood extravaganza – he also earns extra cash scalping overpriced movie tickets. When the police stick him in an orphanage run by the Soviets, an exciting new world opens up for him. Alas, change is brewing in the background: the power dynamics in this country ravaged by civil war are gradually shifting. With a serious yet warm-hearted tone, this coming-of-age film tells of the doubled upheaval in the life of a young man and the dreams that we carry inside on the path to adulthood.

More information: http://www.luxboxfilms.com/the-orphanage

Shahrbanoo Sadat is an Afghan female writer and director, based in Kabul. She was born in Teheran/Iran in 1990 and studied at Atelier Varan Kabul. Her first feature film WOLF AND SHEEP was developed with the Cannes Cinéfondation Residence in 2010, with her as the youngest candidate ever selected for this program. The film won the main award in the section “Quinzaine des Réalisateurs” at the Cannes International Film Festival 2016. Her second feature film, THE ORPHANAGE (2019) is the second part of a planned pentalogy, five films based on an unpublished autobiography.

Filmography: 2016 WOLF AND SHEEP, 2019 THE ORPHANAGE

Contact

Luxbox films
Valentin Carré
France
festivals@luxboxfilms.com
www.luxboxfilms.com

THE ORPHANAGE [PARWARESHGAH]


16.11.2019 17:30 – Caligari FilmBühne

Dänemark/Deutschland/Frankreich/Luxemburg/Afghanistan/Katar 2019 90 Min. dari-russ.-hindi-urdu Omd+eU

von Shahrbanoo Sadat

Drehbuch: Shahrbanoo Sadat, Kamera: Virginie Sudej, Schnitt: Alexandra Strauss, Ton: Sigrid DPA Jensen, Anne Gry Friis Kristensen, Produzentin: Katja Adomeit, Produktion: Adomeit Film, Darsteller: Qodratollah Qadiri, Sediqa Rasuli, Masihullah Feraji, Hasibullah Rasooli, Ahmad Fayaz Omani, Anwar Hashimi

Afghanistan in den späten 1980ern: Der 15-jährige Qodrat lebt für das Kino. Nicht nur, dass sein Dasein in seiner Vorstellungskraft ein einziger Bollywood-Film ist; er verdient sich auch durch den Verkauf überteuerter Kinotickets etwas dazu. Als die Polizei ihn in ein Waisenhaus steckt, das von den Sowjets geleitet wird, bedeutet das eine neue aufregende Welt für ihn. Doch im Hintergrund brodelt es: Die Machtverhältnisse des von einem langen Bürgerkrieg zermürbten Landes verändern sich allmählich. Ernst und doch auch warmherzig erzählt dieser Coming-of-Age-Film von einem doppelten Umbruch im Leben eines Jugendlichen und den Träumen, die wir in uns tragen auf dem Weg zum Erwachsensein.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.luxboxfilms.com/the-orphanage

Shahrbanoo Sadat wurde 1990 als Tochter afghanischer Flüchtlinge in Teheran/Iran, geboren. Sie wuchs in einem abgelegenen Dorf in Afghanistan auf und hat die dabei gemachten Erfahrungen immer wieder in ihre Filme einfließen lassen. Sie studierte am Atelier Varan in Kabul/Afghanistan. WOLF AND SHEEP (2016), den sie mithilfe der Cannes Cinéfondation Residence entwickelte, und THE ORPHANAGE (2019) sind die ersten beiden Titel einer geplanten fünfteiligen Reihe, die auf persönlichen Erinnerungen von Anwar Hashim basieren. Mit WOLF AND SHEEP gewann sie 2016 den Hauptpreis in der Sektion „Quinzaine des Réalisateurs“ bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen von Cannes.

Filmografie: 2016 WOLF AND SHEEP, 2019 THE ORPHANAGE

Kontakt

Luxbox films
Valentin Carré
Frankreich
festivals@luxboxfilms.com
www.luxboxfilms.com