exground filmfest in Wiesbaden is amongst Germany’s most important film festivals for international independent productions. exground filmfest is an important meeting place for journalists, specialized visitors, and guests from the film business.


Many (debut-) films from by now world wide renowned directors had their German or European premieres in Wiesbaden. To name but a few from the last years: 9 SOULS by Toshiaki Toyoda, GERRY by Gus Van Sant, THE THREE BURIALS OF MELQUIADES ESTRADA by Tommy Lee Jones, DEPARTURES by Yojiro Takita, SOMEWHERE TONIGHT by Michael Di Jiacomo, GANTZ 2: PERFECT ANSWER by Shinsuke Sato, AFTER LUCIA by Michel Franco and BETHLEHEM by Yuval Adler.


Guests in Wiesbaden included German Film Award winner Oskar Roehler, Oscar winner Les Bernstein, Katja Esson (Oscar nominee), Susan Emshwiller (script writer for POLLOCK), Adam Green with his film debut GEMSTONES CRACKIN’, New Wave icon Anne Clark as well as the German shooting stars Josefine Preuß, Simon Gosejohann, Dietrich Brüggemann, and Axel Ranisch.


Accompanying programs, such as workshops, exhibitions, concerts, parties and panel discussions, top off exground filmfest.


Main program


American Independents

Independent US productions: from masterpieces with celebrity casts via genuine “Indies” low-budget films with cult potential.


Made in Germany

Brand-new productions from Germany of special quality and originality – arthouse, low-budget films as well as trash jewels and genre films with international format.



Box office smash hits, artistically innovative films, and underground cult movies from all over the world.


Short film programs covering all genres

The shorter the better: at exground filmfest, this is true amongst all genres – and especially for the short film programs loved so much by the audience.



Special program



Every year, exground filmfest takes a special look at the filmic work of a specific country. In cooperation with colleges and local institutions, we already presented big and small masterpieces from Fennoscandia, Austria, Great Britain, France, Canada, the Benelux countries, Spain, Sweden, Latin America, Israel, Switzerland, Australia, New Zealand, Mexico, Greece, Iran as well as Turkey. In 2018, the focus will be dedicated to latest productions from the Philippines.



exground filmfest dedicates a program to a specific director’s work every year. These compact and exquisite screenings already presented directors as Abel Ferrara, Michael Haneke, Mike Figgis, Claire Denis, David Cronenberg, Julio Médem, Roy Andersson, Eyal Sivan and an homage to German actor and director Ulli Lommel.





exground filmfest’s contest programs have become an important forum for numerous promising young film makers – not least due to the huge audience interest in works off the cinema mainstream. At exground filmfest 30, cash prizes and non-cash prizes over EUR 20,000 were awarded.


German Feature Film Competition

A prisoners’ jury will hand out the jury director’s award within our festival section Made in Germany, endowed with a minimum prize money of EUR 1,500 in total.


German Short Film Competition

One of the traditional highlights and audience hits, nationwide contest for the best German short film, endowed with a total of EUR 9,500.


International Short Film Competition

A professional jury will hand out the award for the best international short film, endowed with EUR 2,000.


Wiesbaden-Special – Short Film Competition

Contest for short films by Wiesbaden production companies or local directors, audience award endowed with a total of EUR 2,500.


youth days – International Youth Film Competition

A youth jury will award the best international feature film from the youth days program with EUR 2,500 – and the best international youth days short film with a non-endowed prize. In 2013, an additional audience award was introduced – endowed with a prize money of EUR 1,000.


youth days – Wiesbaden Youth Film Competition

The youth days are being expanded by the Wiesbaden Youth Film Competition – the short film contest for local up-and-coming directors between twelve and 18 years, endowed with a total of EUR 650.

profil

exground filmfest in Wiesbaden gehört zu Deutschlands wichtigsten Filmfestivals für internationale, unabhängige Produktionen. exground filmfest ist ein bedeutender Treffpunkt für Journalisten, Fachbesucher und Gäste aus der Filmbranche.

Viele (Debüt-)Filme von inzwischen weltweit renommierten Regisseuren hatten in Wiesbaden ihre Deutschland- oder Europa-Premiere. Um nur einige wenige aus den vergangenen Jahren zu nennen: 9 SOULS von Toshiaki Toyoda, GERRY von Gus Van Sant, THE THREE BURIALS OF MELQUIADES ESTRADA von Tommy Lee Jones, NOKAN – DIE KUNST DES AUSKLANGS von Yojiro Takita, SOMEWHERE TONIGHT von Michael Di Jiacomo, GANTZ 2: PERFECT ANSWER von Shinsuke Sato, AFTER LUCIA von Michel Franco und BETHLEHEM von Yuval Adler.

Zu Gast in Wiesbaden waren unter anderem Bundesfilmpreisträger Oskar Roehler, Oscar-Gewinner Les Bernstein, Katja Esson (nominiert für den Oscar), Susan Emshwiller (Drehbuchautorin von POLLOCK), Adam Green mit seinem Erstlingswerk GEMSTONES CRACKIN’, die New-Wave-Ikone Anne Clark sowie die deutschen Stars Josefine Preuß, Simon Gosejohann, Dietrich Brüggemann und Axel Ranisch.

Rahmenveranstaltungen wie Workshops, Ausstellungen, Konzerte, Partys und Podiumsdiskussionen ergänzen das Programm von exground filmfest.

Hauptprogramm

American Independents

Unabhängige amerikanische Produktionen, von prominent besetzten Meisterwerken über waschechte „Indies“ bis hin zu Low-Budget-Filmen mit Kultpotenzial.

Made in Germany

Aktuelle einheimische Produktionen von besonderer Qualität und Originalität – Arthouse, Low-Budget-Filme, Trash-Perlen und Genrefilme internationalen Formats.

International

Box-Office-Hits, künstlerisch innovative Filme und Underground-Kultmovies aus aller Welt.

Kurzfilmprogramme in allen Genres

In der Kürze liegt die Würze: Das gilt bei exground filmfest über alle Genres hinweg – und besonders für die beim Publikum beliebten Kurzfilmprogramme.

Sonderprogramm

Fokus

In jedem Jahr richtet exground filmfest ein besonderes Augenmerk auf das Filmschaffen eines Landes oder einer Region. In Kooperation mit Hochschulen und Institutionen vor Ort wurden bereits große und kleine Meisterwerke gezeigt – aus Fennoskandien, Österreich, Großbritannien, Frankreich, Kanada, den Benelux-Ländern, Spanien, Schweden, Lateinamerika, Israel, der Schweiz, Australien, Neuseeland, Mexiko, Griechenland, dem Iran. der Türkei und den Philippinen. Der Länderfokus 2019 widmet sich dem aktuellen Filmgeschehen in Brasilien.

Retrospektive/Hommage/Werkschau

exground filmfest hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, jedes Jahr eine Programmreihe dem Werk eines Regisseurs zu widmen. Ebenso kompakte wie erlesene Filmschauen mit Werken unter anderem von Abel Ferrara, Michael Haneke, Mike Figgis, Claire Denis, David Cronenberg, Julio Médem, Roy Andersson, Eyal Sivan und eine Hommage an Ulli Lommel waren bereits zu sehen.

Wettbewerbe

Die Wettbewerbsreihen von exground filmfest sind inzwischen zu einem wichtigen Forum für vielversprechende junge Filmemacher avanciert – nicht zuletzt wegen des großen Publikumsinteresses an Werken jenseits der Kino-Konfektionsware. Beim exground filmfest 31 wurden Preisgelder und Sachpreise von über 20.000 EUR vergeben.

Deutscher Langfilm-Wettbewerb

Eine Gefangenenjury vergibt den Hauptpreis in der Festivalsektion Made in Germany: Der Regiepreis ist mit mindestens 1.500 EUR dotiert.

Deutscher Kurzfilm-Wettbewerb

Höhepunkt und Publikumsrenner des exground filmfest ist der bundesweite Wettbewerb um den besten deutschen Kurzfilm, dotiert mit insgesamt 9.500 EUR.

Internationaler Kurzfilm-Wettbewerb

Der mit 2.000 EUR dotierte Preis für den besten internationalen Kurzfilm wird von einer internationalen Fachjury vergeben.

Wiesbaden-Special – Kurzfilm-Wettbewerb

Der Preis für Kurzfilme von Wiesbadener Produktionsgesellschaften oder von heimischen Regisseuren ist mit insgesamt 2.500 EUR dotiert und wird vom Publikum vergeben.

youth days – Internationaler Jugendfilm-Wettbewerb

Auch beim exground filmfest 32 wird eine Jugendjury aus dem Programm der youth days den besten internationalen Langfilm auswählen und ihn mit einem Preisgeld von 2.500 EUR prämieren – und zudem den besten Kurzfilm mit einem mit 500 EUR dotierten Preis auszeichnen. Seit 2013 wird in dieser Wettbewerbskategorie zusätzlich ein mit 1.000 EUR dotierter Publikumspreis vergeben.

youth days – Wiesbadener Jugendfilm-Wettbewerb

Ergänzt werden die youth days durch den Wiesbadener Jugendfilm-Wettbewerb, für einheimische Regietalente zwischen zwölf und 18 Jahren, dotiert mit insgesamt 650 EUR.