Press Release: 16th Edition of exground youth days Will Open with THE ORPHANAGE (PARWARESHGAH) by Shahrbanoo Sadat


exground filmfest – Youth Film Program I 16 - 21 November

The 16th edition of exground youth days, the youth film section of exground filmfest, will open on 16 November, 2019, at 17:30 with a screening of THE ORPHANAGE (PARWARESHGAH) by Shahrbanoo Sadat at Wiesbaden’s Caligari FilmBühne. Running from 16 to 21 November, the exground youth days will present an exciting program consisting of 16 short and feature-length films from 24 countries (including international co-productions) that provide insight into the diverse everyday experiences of young individuals. While the International Youth Film Competition features short and feature-length films from established and emerging directors from around the world, the Wiesbaden Youth Film Competition focuses on works by young filmmaking talents from Wiesbaden and the surrounding area. A total of 4,650 euros in cash and non-cash prizes will be awarded in the scope of the two competitions.


Opening film exground youth days: 

THE ORPHANAGE (PARWARESHGAH)

Directed by Shahrbanoo Sadat Afghanistan/Denmark/Germany/France/Qatar/Luxemburg 2019 / 96 min. / Farsi OV w/ German and English subtitles

Afghanistan 1989: cinema is 15-year-old Qodrat’s one true love. It’s not just that he daydreams himself into colourful Bollywood films as a protagonist. He even earns money in the film biz, by scalping cheap theatre tickets at marked-up prices. Alas, this eventually draws the attention of the police, who stick him in a Soviet-run orphanage. A new, exciting world begins to open up for Qodrat, while outside the mujahedeen draw ever nearer. 

As in her award-winning debut film WOLF AND SHEEP (2016), director Shahrbanoo Sadat once again places children in Afghanistan at the centre of the story in THE ORPHANAGE, while also once again casting bright young acting talent Quodratollah Qadiri in the lead role. Sadat has created a touching film about the dreams of a young individual whose life is marked by both internal and external upheaval.  


International Youth Film Competition: Revolution, Social Media Hype and the Clash between Tradition and Modernity

The British production BEATS by Brian Welsh also revolves around adolescents headed for adulthood in politically turbulent times. The scene is Scotland in the summer of 1994 and the political mood is heated: public assemblies have been banned in an attempt to prevent clashes between rebels and police. Best friends Spanner and Johnno have grown up next door to one another in a working-class part of town. On their way to an illegal rave, the two boys – destined to part ways soon as life sends them off on separate paths – become immersed in an anarchical underworld. Against this backdrop of 1990s rave culture, Brian Welsh has lovingly captured a bitter-sweet coming-of-age story in impressive black and white images.

From the ecstatic beats of the rave movement, the program pivots to the energetic protests of Brazil’s young population in Eliza Capai’s YOUR TURN (ESPERO TUA (RE)VOLTA). This award-winning documentary, which focuses on the experiences, passions and fears of a young generation protesting for the right to an education, develops a compelling sense of urgency as it proceeds. With YOUR TURN, Eliza Capai has managed to produce a contemporary study of the protest movements and their development up to the election of extreme right-wing politician Jair Bolsonaro to the Brazilian presidency.

In her documentary JAWLINE (USA, 2019), Liza Mandelup also provides a revealing look at a contemporary phenomenon. Mandelup follows 16-year-old Austyn Tester on his daily quest to increase his likes and followers in the hopes of leaving the constricting surroundings of his depressing hometown somewhere in Tennessee behind. The lure of potential success comes in the form of manager Michael Weist, whose Instagram boys receive millions of clicks, in spite of their dubious reputation. 

In her fiction feature debut FLESH OUT (Italy, 2019), Michela Occhipinti dives into a completely different world. According to a Mauritanian tradition, brides-to-be are supposed to put on weight, for only women with curvaceous figures correspond to the West African nation’s conception of ideal beauty. Verida’s wedding is only three months away, and she is supposed to put on 20 kilos in the interim, by torturing herself with an extreme reverse-diet regime (featuring six meals a day and couscous with milk at night) that takes its toll both physically and mentally. When another man shows interest in her, Verida finally falls headlong into an internal crisis, caught between tradition and modernity. Michela Occhipinti’s first feature-length outing is inspired by a true story.

Short Films at exground youth days

In the International Youth Film Competition, eight international short films, each of which will be screened prior to a feature-length film presentation, take a look at the experiential and emotional worlds of young protagonists. For the second time, the youth jury will be awarding a prize for best short film, worth 500 euros, sponsored by Wiesbadener Kinofestival e.V.

Among other highlights, the programme features the Israeli production GIRL ON A BIKE by Thekra Mekalde, in which a Muslim girl lives out her passion for cycling, even though it’s considered “inappropriate” for women. The group of adolescents portrayed in Martin A. Walther’s documentary TRAIN ROBBERS (TOGRǾVERE) (Norway) also flaunt social conventions and the pressure to conform with their frequent train robbery capers back in the 1990s. Finally, in SHADOW CUT by Lucy Suess (New Zealand, 2018), a young man tries to find a way to escape a stifling existence in rural New Zealand, while hesitating to confide his intentions to his best friend.

In the Wiesbaden Youth Film Competition, regional filmmaking talents have the opportunity to present their work for the first time on the big screen.

The full program for exground 23 will be available online at www.exground.com from October, 28th, 2019.

exground filmfest would like to thank all of its supporters and sponsors.


END OF PRESS RELEASE

Press Contact

( ( ( NOISE Film PR ) ) )

Dagny Kleber
+49 (0) 171 – 402 48 03
exground@noisefilmpr.com

PM: 16. exground youth days eröffnet mit THE ORPHANAGE (PARWARESHGAH) von Shahrbanoo Sadat


exground filmfest – Jugendfilmreihe I 16.–21. November

16 Filme aus 24 Ländern // Einreichfrist für Wiesbadener Jugendfilm-Wettbewerb endet am 18. Oktober

Die 16. Auflage der exground youth days, der Jugendfilmsektion von exground filmfest, wird am 16. November 2019 um 17.30 Uhr mit THE ORPHANAGE (PARWARESHGAH) von Shahrbanoo Sadat in der Caligari FilmBühne eröffnet. Zwischen dem 16. und 21. November präsentieren die exground youth days ein spannendes Programm mit 16 Lang- und Kurzfilmen aus 24 Ländern (darunter internationale Koproduktionen), die Einblicke in die unterschiedlichen Lebenswelten junger Menschen gewähren. Während der Internationale Jugendfilm-Wettbewerb Lang- und Kurzfilme von renommierten und aufstrebenden Regisseur(en)/-innen aus aller Welt präsentiert, stehen beim Wiesbadener Jugendfilm-Wettbewerb die Werke von jungen Regietalenten aus Wiesbaden und Umgebung im Mittelpunkt. Hierfür können sich Interessierte zwischen 12 und 18 Jahren noch bis zum 18. Oktober bewerben. Insgesamt werden in beiden Wettbewerben Geld- und Sachpreise im Wert von insgesamt 4.650 EUR vergeben.


THE ORPHANAGE von Shahrbanoo Sadat

Eröffnungsfilm exground youth days: THE ORPHANAGE (PARWARESHGAH)

Regie: Shahrbanoo Sadat Afghanistan/Dänemark/Deutschland/Frankreich/Katar/Luxemburg 2019
96 Min. I farsi Omd+eU

Afghanistan 1989: Kino, das ist die große Liebe des 15-jährigen Qodrat. Nicht nur, dass er sich als Protagonist in farbenfrohe Bollywoodfilme hineinträumt. Er verdient sogar Geld damit, indem er Kinotickets billig kauft und teurer verscherbelt. Doch dann wird die Polizei auf ihn aufmerksam und steckt ihn in ein von den Sowjets geführtes Waisenhaus. Während sich für Qodrat eine neue, aufregende Welt eröffnet, rücken draußen die Mudschahedin immer näher. 

Wie in ihrem preisgekrönten Debütfilm WOLF AND SHEEP (2016) stellt die Regisseurin Shahrbanoo Sadat in THE ORPHANAGE erneut Kinder in Afghanistan in den Mittelpunkt und konnte auch erneut Quodratollah Qadiri für die Hauptrolle gewinnen. Sadat gelingt ein berührender Film über die Träume im Leben eines Jugendlichen, das von einem inneren wie äußeren Umbruch geprägt ist. 


Internationaler Jugendfilm-Wettbewerb: Revolution, Social-Media-Hype und der Clash von Tradition und Moderne

Um Jugendliche auf dem Weg zum Erwachsensein in politisch aufregenden Zeiten geht es auch in der britischen Produktion BEATS von Brian Welsh. In Schottland im Sommer 1994 ist das politische Klima aufgeheizt: Versammlungsverbote sollen Zusammenstöße zwischen Rebellen und Polizei verhindern. Die besten Freunde Spanner und Johnno wachsen Tür an Tür in einer Arbeitersiedlung in einer Kleinstadt auf. Auf dem Weg zu einem illegalen Underground-Rave reisen die beiden Jungs in eine Unterwelt der Anarchie, bevor sie das Leben in verschiedene Richtungen führen wird. Vor dem Hintergrund der Rave-Kultur der 1990er-Jahre inszeniert Brian Welsh diese bittersüße Coming-of-Age-Geschichte in beeindruckenden Schwarzweiß-Aufnahmen. 

Von den ekstatischen Beats der Rave-Bewegung geht es zu den energiegeladenen Protesten der jungen Bevölkerung Brasiliens in YOUR TURN (ESPERO TUA (RE)VOLTA) von Eliza Capai. Im Fokus des preisgekrönten Dokumentarfilms stehen die Erfahrungen, Leidenschaften und Ängste von Jugendlichen, die in ihrem Protest für das Recht auf Bildung eine mitreißende Dringlichkeit entwickeln. Eliza Capai gelingt mit YOUR TURN eine hochaktuelle Studie der Protestbewegungen und ihrer Entwicklung bis zur Wahl des rechtsextremen Jair Bolsonaro zum Präsidenten von Brasilien. 

Eine weiteren aufschlussreichen Blick auf ein aktuelles Phänomen wirft Liza Mandelup in ihrem Dokumentarfilm JAWLINE (USA 2019). Mandelup begleitet den 16-jährigen Austyn Tester auf der Jagd nach Likes und Followern, um endlich die engen Grenzen seines deprimierenden Heimatortes irgendwo in Tennessee hinter sich lassen. Großen Erfolg verspricht dabei der Manager Michael Weist, dessen Instagram-Boys zwar millionenfach geklickt werden, aber auch einen zweifelhaften Ruf genießen. 

In eine ganz andere Welt taucht Michela Occhipinti in ihrem Spielfilm FLESH OUT (Italien 2019) ein. Nach einer mauretanischen Tradition sollen zukünftige Bräute zunehmen, denn nur Frauen mit wohlgerundeten Figuren entsprechen dem mauretanischen Schönheitsideal. Veridas Hochzeit findet in drei Monaten statt, und bis dahin soll sie 20 Kilo zunehmen. Verida quält sich durch eine Prozedur, die sie physisch wie psychisch extrem belastet: sechs Mahlzeiten am Tag, auch nachts Couscous mit Milch. Das Interesse eines anderen Mannes stürzt sie endgültig in einen Gewissenskonflikt zwischen Tradition und Moderne. Michela Occhipintis Spielfilmdebüt ist inspiriert von wahren Begebenheiten.


Kurzfilme bei den exground youth days

Im Internationalen Jugendfilm-Wettbewerb werfen acht internationale Kurzfilme, die jeweils vor einem Langfilm gezeigt werden, einen Blick auf die Lebenswelten jugendlicher Protagonisten. Zum zweiten Mal vergibt die Jugendjury einen Preis für den besten Kurzfilm, dotiert mit 500 EUR und gestiftet vom Wiesbadener Kinofestival e. V.

Zu sehen sein wird unter anderem der israelische Beitrag GIRL ON A BIKE von Thekra Mekalde, in dem ein muslimisches Mädchen ihre Leidenschaft fürs Fahrradfahren auslebt, obwohl dies für Frauen in ihrer Umgebung als „unangemessen“ gilt. Gegen gesellschaftliche Konventionen und Anpassungen verstößt auch die Gruppe Jugendlicher in Martin A. Walthers Dokumentarfilm TRAIN ROBBERS (TOGRǾVERE) aus Norwegen, die in den 1990er-Jahren regelmäßig Züge überfiel. Dem beengten Leben im ländlichen Neuseeland versucht ein junger Mann in SHADOW CUT von Lucy Suess (Neuseeland 2018) zu entrinnen – und zögert dennoch, seine Pläne seiner besten Freundin anzuvertrauen.

Im Wiesbadener Jugendfilm-Wettbewerb haben einheimische Regietalente die Chance, ihre Werke zum ersten Mal auf der großen Leinwand zu präsentieren. Noch bis zum 18. Oktober können junge Menschen zwischen 12 und 18 Jahren ihre Werke beim exground filmfest einreichen. Alle Details zur Einreichung finden sich hier

Das komplette exground-Programm ist ab dem 28. Oktober 2019 auf www.exground.com zu sehen.

exground filmfest dankt allen Förderern und Sponsoren.


ENDE DER PRESSEMITTEILUNG

Pressekontakt

( ( ( NOISE Film PR ) ) )

Dagny Kleber
+49 (0) 171 – 402 48 03
exground@noisefilmpr.com