INTERNATIONAL SHORT FILM COMPETITION – PART II

11/19/2021 07:30 pm – Caligari FilmBühne

INTERNATIONAL SHORT FILM COMPETITION – JURY

Brendon Conway
The US-American studied film and television production and management at Syracuse University, Syracuse, NY. From 2000, he worked for Warner Brothers Animation as a producer and writer. He worked for CBS/The Early Show as a producer between 2000 and 2008, 2007 as a director for Discovery Networks, and as a producer for different broadcasting stations. Since 2009, he is the producer of CBS Saturday Morning in New York and produces his own shorts.

Alexandre Espigares
The director and animator from Luxembourg has been working in animation for over 20 years. After graduating from the animation department at the Lycée Technique des Arts et Métiers in Luxembourg, he went on to pursue an international career as animator, giving life to characters for the big and the small screen. In 2014, he won the Academy Award® for best animated short film for MR HUBLOT which he co-directed. He had his directorial feature debut with the animated adaptation of Jack London’s classic tale WHITE FANG which premiered in 2018 at the Sundance Film Festival and was nominated for the European Film Award that same year.

Karin Hoffinger
After studies of English and Roman Languages at the Berlin Free University, the Wiesbaden native spent some years in Italy and Greece and joined the Berlin Film Festival in 1989, where she worked as PA to former festival director Moritz de Hadeln. In 1992, she moved over to the production side as Production Assistant for Wim Wenders’ Road Movies Filmproduktion in Berlin. In 1995, she came back to the Berlin Film Festival and is now heading the festival’s International Relations Department. She has been member of several international juries: at the Film Festival Guadalajara/Mexico, at the Bucharest International Film Festival/Romania, in Setubál/Portugal, at the European Film Festival in Palic/Serbia and at the Ischia Film Festival/Italy.

INTERNATIONALER KURZFILM-WETTBEWERB – TEIL II

19.11.2021 19:30 – Caligari FilmBühne

INTERNATIONALER KURZFILM-WETTBEWERB – JURY

Brendon Conway
Der US-Amerikaner studierte Film- und Fernsehproduktion an der Syracuse University im Bundesstaat New York. Nach seinem Abschluss arbeitete er ab 2000 für Warner Brothers Animation als Produzent und Autor. Neben weiteren Tätigkeiten für CBS und Discovery Networks, Worldwide Plants Inc. & Syfy Channel ist er seit 2009 als Produzent und Autor für CBS Saturday Morning in New York zuständig. Nebenbei produziert er eigene Kurzfilme.

Alexandre Espigares
Der Animator und Regisseur aus Luxemburg absolvierte eine zweijährige Trickfilm-Ausbildung am Lycée Technique des Arts et Métiers de Luxembourg. 2002 begann er seine internationale Karriere im Bereich Animation, unter anderem mit Stationen in Paris, Brüssel, Singapur, Sydney, Montreal und München. Für den Kurzfilm MR HUBLOT, an dem er als Co-Regisseur mitwirkte, erhielt er 2014 den Oscar in der Kategorie „Bester animierter Kurzfilm“. Seine Jack-London-Neuverfilmung WOLFSBLUT feierte 2018 Premiere beim Sundance Film Festival und wurde im selben Jahr für den Europäischen Filmpreis in der Kategorie „Bester Animationsfilm“ nominiert.

Karin Hoffinger
Die gebürtige Wiesbadenerin studierte Anglistik und Romanistik und arbeitete ab 1989 als persönliche Assistentin des ehemaligen Berlinale-Leiters Moritz de Hadeln. 1992 wechselte sie als Produktionsassistentin zu Wim Wenders’ Road Movies Filmproduktion in Berlin. 1995 kehrte sie zu den Berliner Filmfestspielen zurück und leitet nun die Abteilung International Relations des Festivals. Zudem war sie Mitglied in einigen internationalen Jurys: beim Filmfestival Guadalajara/Mexiko, beim Bucharest International Film Festival/Rumänien, in Setubál/Portugal, beim European Film Festival in Palic/Serbien und beim Ischia Film Festival/Italien.